Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Easter Hymns Reflection – When I Survey the Wondrous Cross

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 1 – Monday, March 14, 2016

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross –

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross – (Kathryn Scott) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhvXOIVsRv4

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szQze2UJCeo

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross – (Selah) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szQze2UJCeo

  1. When I survey the wondrous cross
    On which the Prince of glory died,
    My richest gain I count but loss,
    And pour contempt on all my pride.
  2. Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
    Save in the death of Christ my God!
    All the vain things that charm me most,
    I sacrifice them to His blood.
  3. See from His head, His hands, His feet,
    Sorrow and love flow mingled down!
    Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
    Or thorns compose so rich a crown?
  4. Were the whole realm of nature mine,
    That were a present far too small;
    Love so amazing, so divine,
    Demands my soul, my life, my all.

Galatians 6:14 (ESV)  14 But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

Philippians 3:7-10 (ESV) – But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ.Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— 10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death,

O – Paul was a “super-Hebrew” – A Hebrew of Hebrews, a Pharisee, brought up in the Jewish tradition – and YET – all those “trappings” were NOTHING in light of what Christ had done for Him.  He considered them as rubbish, as garbage, as nothing – so be found in Christ.  This discovery was finding righteousness that was NOT from what he had done, or who he was, but from faith in Christ.  This faith did not depend on obeying the Law, or by performing rituals or from his own “righteousness” but the righteousness that come from faith in Christ.  Why?  He wanted to know Christ, “and [in that same way experience] the power of His resurrection [which overflows and is active in believers], and [that I may share] the fellowship of His sufferings, by being continually conformed [inwardly into His likeness even] to His death [dying as He did]; (Phil. 3:10 – AMP)  Furthermore, Paul said that he couldn’t boast in ANYTHING EXCEPT the cross of Christ – the cross that Christ died on – so we can have life forever.  Paul’s thought is that he crucified the world (and all its trappings) on the cross, that the world was no longer the most important, but the cross of Christ.

A – How does this relate to the hymn – and to my own life? This is my prayer today, combined with the words of this song.

Father God, as I meditate on the words of this beautiful song, I pray that You would speak to my heart.

“When I survey the wondrous cross on which the Prince of Glory died, my richest gain I count but loss, and pour contempt on all my pride.”  Do I, like Paul, consider all my Christian heritage and talents and gifting LESS IMPORTANT, even yet – loss?  Do I think of my prideful self with contempt?  Do I take away all that the world considers gain – loss?

“Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast, save in the death of Christ my God!  All the vain things that charm me most, I sacrifice them to His blood.”  Father God, don’t let me keep boasting of all that I do, all that I – EXCEPT for who I am – IN YOU.  All those things, those physical things in my world that catch my attention, I give over to You.  Help me to learn to live simply, in view of Christ’s sacrifice on the cross.

“ See from His head, His hands, His feet, sorrow and love flow mingled down!  Did e’er such love and sorrow meet, or thorns compose so rich a crown?”  Father, keep my mind on what Christ’s sacrifice means to me as a believer.  His love is SO MUCH GREATER than anyone else could love me.  Keep the suffering, His agony, His sacrifice – in my mind so I can reflect on His love.  His agony paid for my life.  His suffering paid for my eternal life.  Thank You, Father.

“Were the whole realm of nature mine, that were a present far too small; Love so amazing, so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all.”  Even if I could give You the world, all that is around me, it wouldn’t be enough of a gift to repay you.  ALL I can give You is ALL of me.  ALL of me.  Father, I give You – ME.  Help me to live for You today in ALL that I do, ALL that I say.

Leave a Reply

