Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Easter Hymns Reflection – Lead Me to Calvary

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 5 – Friday, March 11, 2016

Lead Me to Calvary – (Don Moen) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewKugGDO6JM

King of my life, I crown Thee now,
Thine shall the glory be;
Lest I forget Thy thorn crowned brow,
Lead me to Calvary.

Refrain

Lest I forget Gethsemane,
Lest I forget Thine agony;
Lest I forget Thy love for me,
Lead me to Calvary.

 Show me the tomb where Thou wast laid,
Tenderly mourned and wept;
Angels in robes of light arrayed
Guarded Thee whilst Thou slept.

Refrain

Let me like Mary, through the gloom,
Come with a gift to Thee;
Show to me now the empty tomb,
Lead me to Calvary.

Refrain

May I be willing, Lord, to bear
Daily my cross for Thee;
Even Thy cup of grief to share,
Thou hast borne all for me.

Refrain

I Corinthians 2:2 (ESV)  For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.

Luke 23:27, 33-34, 53 English Standard Version (ESV)  27 And there followed him a great multitude of the people and of women who were mourning and lamenting for him.   33 And when they came to the place that is called The Skull, there they crucified him, and the criminals, one on his right and one on his left. 34 And Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” And they cast lots to divide his garments.  5Then he took it down and wrapped it in a linen shroud and laid him in a tomb cut in stone, where no one had ever yet been laid.

I Cor. 2:2 (AMP) For I made the decision to know nothing [that is, to forego philosophical or theological discussions regarding inconsequential things and opinions while] among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified [and the meaning of His redemptive, substitutionary death and His resurrection].

O –   This is a hymn of “not forgetting….”  When we realize the extent of Christ’s suffering – for us – and His death – for us – how CAN we forget what Calvary means?  Even Paul, when he was with the Corinthians, committed to teach and preach NOTHING but Christ – and Christ crucified.  Nothing.  Nothing is more important in our Christian faith!  Remembering what Christ did – His time at Gethsemane when he was praying and later betrayed, His beating and scorning by soldiers and those around Him, the alone-ness He endured on the cross – all for His love for me, and for you.  Knowing all this, how can I not “pick up my cross daily and follow Him?”

A – I think what I am taking away from this two week study of some of the Easter hymns – those that concentrate on Christ’s suffering and death – is that He suffered and died – for ME.  It is true suffering.   Not just the physical suffering, and there was tremendous suffering in being beaten, carrying His own cross, and hanging for hours with nails pounded into His hands and feet.  But it is the emotional suffering, the mocking and scorning, betrayal by his friends, and then finally, His own Father turning His face from Him, unable to look at my sin.  That – to me – is the worst.  Bearing my sin – and suffering the consequences of a death alone because of my sin.  Oh, “King of my life, I crown Thee now, Thine shall the glory be.  Lest I forget Thy thorn crowned brow, lead me to Calvary.”

P – Father God, lead me to the cross, where I can remember what my Lord suffered for me.  Let me not forget all that Christ endured for me, suffered for me, bore for me.  My sin, my punishment – He took that for me.  Thank You Father, for Your forgiveness of my sin.  Jesus suffered and paid the price for my sins.  Give me that sense of loss, of responsibility – to acknowledge His death and its implications for me.  Father, You accepted His sacrifice for my sins.  You love me – despite my sins, because of His atoning death.  Help me to live a life worthy of His sacrifice and Your love.

Leave a Reply

