Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Easter Hymn Reflections

Leave a comment

Week 1 – Day 1 – March 7, 2016

Wounded for Me

Wounded for Me – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZz4vmDQTEY

Wounded for Me – (contemporary song) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztklSyDSUZE

  1. Wounded for me, wounded for me,
    There on the cross He was wounded for me;
    Gone my transgressions, and now I am free,
    All because Jesus was wounded for me.
  2. Dying for me, dying for me,
    There on the cross He was dying for me;
    Now in His death my redemption I see,
    All because Jesus was dying for me.
  3. Risen for me, risen for me,
    Up from the grave He has risen for me;
    Now evermore from death’s sting I am free,
    All because Jesus has risen for me.
  4. Living for me, living for me,
    Up in the skies He is living for me;
    Daily He’s pleading and praying for me,
    All because Jesus is living for me.
  5. Coming for me, coming for me,
    One day to earth He is coming for me;
    Then with what joy His dear face I shall see,
    Oh, how I praise Him—He’s coming for me!

Isaiah 53: 3-5

He was despised and rejected by men;
a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief;
and as one from whom men hide their faces
he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Surely he has borne our griefs
and carried our sorrows;
yet we esteemed him stricken,
smitten by God, and afflicted.
But he was pierced for our transgressions;
he was crushed for our iniquities;
upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace,
and with his wounds we are healed.

Story – W.G. Owens – http://www.wordwise-bible-studies.com/Wounded-for-Me.html

O – I look at what Christ did for me…. And I am overwhelmed that He was willing to do this – for me.  What did He go through on His journey to the cross?  He was despised (hated) and rejected by men.  A Man of Sorrows and pain.  He was acquainted with grief – familiar with grief’s presence in His life.  He was despised, hated.  His worth was not appreciated by those around Him, nor did they count Him as worthy.  His burden was our grief.  He carried our sorrows and pain.  Those around Him thought that God was abandoning, striking out at, and humiliating Him.  BUT – and this is a HUGE BUT……   He was wounded for our transgressions.  He was crushed for our wickedness and sin.  The punishment that WE deserve ( and that was REQUIRED) was on Him.  AND – by His stripes (His wounds) we are healed!

A – Christ’s journey to the cross – was for me.  He bore my sin, my wickedness, and my old nature – on the cross.  He was alone in this, willing to take on my sin, so that I could be healed and forgiven.  It wasn’t that God was abandoning Him – but that Christ was carrying my sin – and God cannot look at sin.   So, Christ carrying my sin meant that He was willing to bear the punishment, the wounds, the alone-ness, that sin brings.  For me.  Not because I deserve it, but because He loves me.

P – Father God, thank You for the cross, the place where Jesus died – for me.  He was wounded – for me.  He was beaten – for me.  He was alone in this – for me.  He bore my sin – because He loved me.  I don’t deserve this.  I should have been the one to bear my sin.  That punishment was mine.  But He took it.  That death and payment for sin should have been mine. But He paid it.  Thank You, Jesus.  Words cannot express enough of my heart for this.  Accept my life, my heart, and all my being.  Father God, I thank You that I can KNOW and look forward to the day that Jesus is coming for me, that He will bring me to Himself. Thank You, Father God, for Jesus, who intercedes for me, even now, from Your presence.  I live in the freedom that He paid for – with His life.

Leave a Reply

