Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – When should we pray?

Leave a comment

Week Eight – Day 4WK8D4

Psalm 18: 1 – 6 – I love you, O Lord, my strength. 2 The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. 3 I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies. 4 The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of destruction assailed me; 5 the cords of Sheol entangled me; the snares of death confronted me. 6 In my distress I called upon the Lord; to my God I cried for help. From his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears.

O – David is calling to the Lord in his distress. He is surrounded by death, ungodliness, destruction – Saul and his enemies are after him. Does he immediately complain to the Lord? NO! First, he declares his love for God. Then, he tells God WHO HE IS. God is his strength, rock, fortress, deliverer, rock, refuge, shield, horn of his salvation, and stronghold. They are all battle or protection terms – as that is what he needs right now. BUT, he declares who God is in that manner, first. Then, he declares his faith and trust in God – He calls on the Lord, and he is saved from his enemies. ONLY THEN does he tell God what is wrong. He explains his situation – the death, destruction, being ensnared. FINALLY, “in my distress” – David calls on the Lord – for help and deliverance. At that point, he also declares that God hears him. That is trust in him – to declare deliverance before it actually happens. When should I pray? When I am in distress.

A – How many times do I come to the Lord – distressed, and just pour out a litany of complaints and requests? Do I even stop to acknowledge the God to whom I am coming? Do I tell Him that I love Him? Do I tell Him WHO HE IS? Do I use His names? Do I declare my faith and trust in Him? Do I do all this BEFORE I present my requests? I would never think of going to someone else – and just blurting out what I need! OH, may I think of WHOM I am going to – and declare His worthiness – because He is God, and I am not.

P – Father God, I confess my lack of acknowledging You. Forgive me for the times that I run to You, blurting out a litany of my needs, without even declaring my love , my trust, my faith – in You. I know the times that I use Your names, the meaning of Your names, that I am in awe of the great God that You are. You are my fortress, my deliverer, my protection. I DO rest in the shadow of Your wings. Father – You are my God, in whom I trust. Thank You for Your faithfulness through the years – and Your promise of life forever with You. I love You, fervently. Help me to love You more – and to declare that love to those I meet today.

A Mighty Fortress – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2UUpeImcnqA

Leave a Reply

