Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – When should we pray?

Leave a comment

Week Eight – Day Two – Read Psalm 63:5-8 ESV   SOAP Psalm 63:5-6WK8D2.jpg

Shadow of Your Wings – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBmQj2FHMAQ

5 My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, 6 when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; 7 for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy. 8 My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.

My soul [my life, my very self] is satisfied as with marrow and fatness, And my mouth offers praises [to You] with joyful lips. When I remember You on my bed, I meditate and thoughtfully focus on You in the night watches, For You have been my help, And in the shadow of Your wings [where I am always protected] I sing for joy. My soul [my life, my very self] clings to You; Your right hand upholds me. (AMP)

O – This whole Psalm is a beautiful rendering from David, when he was wandering in the desert. Even his word pictures reflect the desert: my soul thirsts for you, a dry and weary land. Even in this arid place, David knows where true satisfaction comes from – from praising Him! Even in the desert, his soul is satisfied, and he gives praise with joy! Even in the dark night, he meditates on Him in the watches (the dark times) of the night. Even so, he knows that God has been his help, and knows that he can rest in the shadow of His wings, protected and safe, and singing for joy. (It’s STILL dark outside, though!) He clings to God (his life, his very self), knowing that God’s right hand upholds him.

A – This is a psalm of “even if” for me! Whatever David’s circumstances, he “even if” had praise for His God! How do I apply this? I praise – even if – it is dark circumstances. I praise – even if – I am in the desert place. I praise – even if – I am attacked. I praise – BECAUSE – I can rest in the shadow of His wings. I praise – BECAUSE – I am satisfied (my life, my very self!). I praise – BECAUSE – I FOCUS on Him in the night. I praise – BECAUSE – HE HAS BEEN MY HELP! I praise – BECAUSE – He is God. He is MY God. So – when can I pray? I can pray EVEN IF. EVEN IF I don’t feel like it. EVEN IF it is dark – either outside, or in my heart or emotions. EVEN IF I am attacked. EVEN IF I’m in the desert place. BECAUSE I rest in the shadow of His wings. Rest. Under His protection and love. Ah…..

P – Father God, thank You for that picture of resting in the shadow of Your wings today. I rest there, fulfilled and satisfied. You have brought me joy, even in the desert places. You have protected me, even though I was attacked. You have been there – through the ups and downs of my life. Father – YOU have been my help, my shelter, my protection, my satisfaction. You are God, and I praise You for who You are, and for what You have done. I rest in You today.

Shadow of Your Wings – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBmQj2FHMAQ

My spirit rests in You
You’re all I know
Embrace and touch me
Like a child
I’m safe in You

You’re my shelter through it all
You’re my refuge and my strength
Lord I hide in the shadow of Your wings

My Lord, You’re faithful
You supply all good things
You know completely
All my thoughts
My deepest needs

Leave a Reply

