Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – When should you pray?

Leave a comment

Day One – Read Psalm 5:3 ESV and Proverbs 8:17   SOAP Psalm 5:3WK8D1.jpg

In the Morning When I Rise – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_SwjzlMGhw

Psalm 5:3 O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch.

Proverbs 8:17 –  I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me.

O – When should we pray?  In the morning.  In these verses, I see “in the morning,”  “prepare a sacrifice”, “watch”, and “seek diligently.”  The other versions that I read spoke to my heart – “In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;  in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.(NIV)  and “In the morning, O Lord, You will hear my voice; In the morning I will prepare [a prayer and a sacrifice] for You and watch and wait [for You to speak to my heart].” (AMP)   The feeling here is expectancy – that meeting with God that brings a realization that He is there, waiting, and He hears.  Both versions give a feeling of watching and waiting – for God to speak back.  It is a conversation, not a monologue!  (ouch – how many times do I have a monologue?)  The end result of this conversation is finding God – even in my mornings!

A – For years, I struggled with the feelings of guilt from verses such as these.  I am NOT a morning person – it takes a shower and a cup of coffee – and about an hour before my brain kicks in gear.  I literally walk through my morning routine as though rote, and finally, my brain wakes enough to join my body.  So, I did my Bible study and devotions in the evening, when I was more awake and alert.  But, for the past few months, I have spent my early morning in Bible study and prayer – with my coffee.  I have become more regular in my study, and have enjoyed this morning time.  When I was teaching, it was evening study.  But today’s blog posting from Jen spoke to my heart.  Can I spend those first few minutes in prayer and praise?  After I hit that “snooze” button, can I pray instead of snooze?  Can I start my day differently?  That is this week’s challenge for me!  “In the morning, when I rise, give me Jesus!”

P – Father God, I confess my morning laziness in seeking you FIRST.  Give me the willpower to seek You, and to seek You first in my day.  Not to have the excuse of “when I sit down with my coffee”, but first off.  But, also give me the clarity of thought and heart when I sit with my coffee and Your Word.  Thank You for this reminder, and Your constant love and presence.

Leave a Reply

