Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing through Prayer – Why does God hear me?

Leave a comment

Day Five – Read Romans 8:26-27 ESV   SOAP Romans 8:27WK6D5.jpg

Be Still and Know – (Hillsong) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHATCAvlqQA

 

26 Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. 27 And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

 In the same way the Spirit [comes to us and] helps us in our weakness. We do not know what prayer to offer or how to offer it as we should, but the Spirit Himself [knows our need and at the right time] intercedes on our behalf with sighs and groanings too deep for words. 27 And He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because the Spirit intercedes [before God] on behalf of [a]God’s people in accordance with God’s will.

O – I had to go back and look earlier in the chapter to what the “likewise” was talking about.  Earlier, Paul is explaining that creation is groaning, waiting for future glory and redemption.  And we, also, groan as we await the future redemption of our bodies – the HOPE that we have in Him.  LIKEWISE, the Spirit intercedes for us – with groaning that is too deep for words.    My study bible states, “as hope sustains believers when they suffer, so the Holy Spirit helps them when they pray, with groans that words cannot express.”  (Zondervan NIV Study Bible)  The Spirit knows our needs – and intercedes (goes in behalf of someone else) for us.  And God, (he who searches the hearts), knows the mind of the Spirit.  The Spirit intercedes for us IN ACCORDANCE with God’s will.  (Again – a reminder from earlier this week – according to His will).

A – There’s also an element of “being still” in this passage for me – to be still, to NOT struggle, to allow the Spirit to work.  If the Holy Spirit intercedes for me, I can rest and be still in Him as well.  HE does the interceding and groaning, especially when we do not know WHAT or HOW to pray.  It is offering it up to Him, allowing Him to work, and to intercede on our behalf.  Isaiah 30:15 states, “For thus said the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel, “In returning and rest you shall be saved;  in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” But you were unwilling,”

Do I rest in Him, knowing that the Spirit intercedes for me?  Do  I wait “in quietness and trust?”  This is something that I have to learn, and relearn!  There are many times that I do not know what to pray, and I need to give that over to the Holy Spirit – as that is why He is within me!  He is not only the Interceder, but the Comforter.  (John 14:16 – “And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;”)    Today, I rest in Him, knowing He abides within me.

P –   Father God, I confess my restlessness, my need to worry, my “unreleasing” of my words.  Father, give me the strength to allow the Holy Spirit to work within me.  Help me to rest in You, in quietness and trust.  Am I unwilling, Father?  Or do I need to learn?  I struggle in times that I shouldn’t have to.  I wrestle with my words.  I worry and stress – when I need to learn to “give it up” to You – or allow Your Spirit to work.  Thank You for those reminders this week about praying according to Your will.  Thank You that Your Holy Spirit also intercedes for me, according to Your will.  Help me release that “I gotta do it myself” mentality – and to rest, and to be still, in You.

Hide me now
Under Your wings
Cover me
Within Your mighty hand

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father you are King over the flood
I will be still, know You are God

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know His power
In quietness and trust

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father You are king over the flood
I will be still, know You are God [x2]

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know His power
In quietness and trust

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father You are king over the flood
I will be still, know You are God [x2]

Leave a Reply

