Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Why does God hear me?

Leave a comment

Day Four – Read Matthew 7:7-11 ESV   SOAP Matthew 7:11WK6D4.jpg

Hear My Heart – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7mltTaIdUU

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. 9 Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? 11 If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!95

O – ask – to ask (in genitive case):—ask, beg, call for, crave, desire, require
Seek – to seek [in order to find out] by thinking, meditating, reasoning, to enquire into – to seek after, seek for, aim at, strive after
Knock – figuratively, Mat 7:7, 8; Luk 11:9, 10 (of importunity in dealing with God) – from Strong’s Concordance

i. In this three-fold description of prayer as asking, seeking, and knocking we see different aspects of prayer and different aspects of its reward.
– Prayer is like asking in that we simply make our requests known to God, and everyone who asks receives. Receiving is the reward of asking.
– Prayer is like seeking in that we search after God, His word, and His will, and he who seeks finds. Finding is the reward of seeking.
– Prayer is like knocking until the door is opened, and we seek entrance into the great heavenly palace of our Great King. Entering through the opened door into His palace is the reward of knocking, and the best reward of all.
ii. “Ask with confidence and humility. Seek with care and application. Knock with earnestness and perseverance.” (Clarke)
https://www.blueletterbible.org/…/StudyGui…/Mat_7.cfm

A – As I read these verses, I was struck by the progression of words: ask, seek, knock. They increase with determination through the progression. I loved this progression that I found on blueletterbible: “Receiving is the reward of asking….. finding is the reward of seeking…. Entering through the opened door into His palace is the reward of knocking, and the best reward of all!”

How many times do I stop at asking, and stop asking?? Or – do I stop seeking – and give up? I am encouraged to knock, to approach with determination and persistence – and to keep knocking. The verbs here imply a continued action – to KEEP asking, to KEEP seeking, to KEEP knocking. That is what I need, and desire in my prayer life – the KEEP on KEEPING on! And God DESIRES to give us what we ask for! If we don’t ask, if we don’t seek, if we don’t knock – we don’t receive!

P – Oh, Father God, You desire asking You. You desire my seeking You. You desire my knocking at Your door. I confess that I get lax, no, lazy in my requests. I give up too easily. I ask, but don’t continue asking. I seek, but don’t continue seeking. I knock, but don’t continue knocking. Father, give me determination, even resolve and fortitude in seeking You. Father, I can’t be a prayer warrior without that determination, that regularity, that “keep on keeping on” in my spirit. Thank You for Your consistent nature, Your desire to meet our needs, and Your ever present love, in spite of my humanness. Thank You for being Who You are, and doing what You do. You are God – God alone.

Leave a Reply

