Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Why does God hear me?

Leave a comment

Day Three – Read Isaiah  41:10 ESV and Psalm 34:18    SOAP Psalm 34:18WK6D3.jpg

Not what My Hands have Done – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogV7Xpn0-3Y&index=3&list=RDCSp-3kvKQZs

Songs for the Brokenhearted (playlist) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYS5KeYYeCk

Isaiah 41:10 – fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 34:18 – The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.

O – Why does God hear me?  God’s presence is what comforts and strengthens us.  He calls to me, saying that He is WITH me.  He says, “I am with you.”   “I am your God.”  But He also says what He will do:  strengthen me, help me, uphold me.  He is NEAR to the brokenhearted, and saves those who are crushed in spirit.  (contrite in heart, truly sorry for their sin) – AMP.  There are so many verses that state the same thing – that HE IS HERE.  He is WITH ME.

Isaiah 43:2 – When you pass through the waters,  I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.  When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

Psalm 119:28 – My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word.

Isaiah 44:2 – This is what the Lord says— he who made you, who formed you in the womb, and who will help…

Psalm 145:18 – The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.

A – What a comfort it is to KNOW that God is not only NEAR to me, but He is HERE with me.  I have experienced that presence, that almost-physical presence of God, when I have been full with grief, with sorrow, with sadness, with betrayal, with alone-ness.  He was there!   And – He is with me today.  I note that this does not depend upon circumstances.  He does not promise that I will not go through difficulty, with sorrow, with times of betrayal, with grief, BUT He promises to BE HERE.  He is WITH ME.  His promises are presence and equipping.  Why does He hear me?   HE IS HERE!  He is WITH ME.

P – Father God, thank You for your constant presence.  Your omnipresence.  Your faithfulness throughout the years, and through the future.  Thank You for all those times that You walked with me through sorrow, betrayal, and alone-ness.  Thank You for being WITH ME.  Your presence was felt, was tangible.  Father, help me to see Your presence in the ordinary life as well.  I confess that I run to You when trials come.  But I know that You want me to run to You every day, to call on You in the ordinary moments, to realize Your presence in every moment of every day.

Songs for the Brokenhearted (playlist) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYS5KeYYeCk

Not what my hands have done can save my guilty soul
Not what my toiling flesh has borne can make my spirit whole
Not what I feel or do can give me peace with God
Not all my prayers and sighs and tears can bear my awful load

These guilty hands are raised, filthy rags are all I bring
And I have come to hide beneath Your wings
These holy hands are raised, washed in the fountain of Your grace
And now I wear Your righteousness

Thy work alone, oh Christ can ease this weight of sin
Thy blood alone, oh Lamb of God can give me peace within
Thy love to me, oh God, not mine, oh Lord to Thee
Can rid me of this dark unrest and set my spirit free
Thy grace alone, oh God to me, can pardon speak
Thy power alone, oh Lamb of God, can this sore bondage break?
No other work save Thine, no other blood will do
No strength but that which is divine can bear me safely through

I praise the God of grace, I trust His truth and might
He calls me His, I call Him mine, my God, my joy, my light
My Lord has saved my life and freely pardon gives
I love because He first loved me, I live because He lives

 

Leave a Reply

