Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – What to Pray for..

Leave a comment

Day Five – Read Luke 6:27-28 ESV   SOAP Luke 6:27-28WK5D5.jpg

Love Your Enemies – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhMNr9NtSD0

 

27 “But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you.

O – This passage is from the Beatitude section in Luke.  Jesus blesses those who are poor, hungry, who weep, and when people hate you.  He pronounces woes on those who are rich, full, who laugh, and when “people speak well of you.”  (Ha – I JUST noticed….. they are opposites! – new insights in the Word every day!)  He takes all that – and summarizes it to say – “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, and pray for those who abuse you.”  Again – the EXACT OPPOSITE of what we would tend to do and say!

A – My thoughts went back a few years to when I was betrayed by a close friend.  The human side of us does NOT want to love, or bless, or pray for those who hurt us!  I didn’t!  But I also learned that bitterness, anger, and hurt, yes – even hurt – will do more damage to US than to them.  It affects us on the inside.  It colors our thinking, it affects other relationships, and even affects our walk with the Lord.  It took a long time to let go of this, and finally, I wrote a letter to that person.   It was after many times of prayer, of battling on the inside, of reading passages like this.  The release I felt was incredible – so freeing, so relieving.  And – it didn’t matter what the response was – it was MY response, MY release, MY letting go of the anger, hurt, and bitterness that mattered.  While I have not seen that person in over five years, I did get a response, and it was positive.  I don’t think there will ever be a friendship, but the deep hurt and anguish are gone.  There is a sadness to this, but a healing has taken place deep in my soul.  I think that is what this passage is talking about – to love, do good, bless, and pray for those who hurt us – it is for OUR benefit!  NOT someone else’s!  IT is for US.  But, it will affect others, as God works within our hearts.

P – Father God, thank You for the healing that has taken place in my soul, in my heart, in my life.  You have replaced the anger and hurt with Your love, and blessing.  Father, touch ________ today, wherever she is.  May she sense Your presence, and Your love today.  Father, help me keep short accounts with the relationships in my life, so You can work within them.  Thank You for Your never-ending love, Your Holy Spirit who pricks our conscience, and Your Son, who died for me and all people.  You are my God, my Healer, my sustainer.  Thank You.

Leave a Reply

