Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – What to Pray for

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day 4 –WK5D4

Read 1 Timothy 2:1-3 ESV   SOAP I Timothy 2:1-2

Can I Pray for You? – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6OB2WOKCHg

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, 2 for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. 3 This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior,

O – I wanted to take a look at what these kinds of prayers are:

  • Supplications – specific requests (Strong’s – a seeking, asking, entreating, entreaty to God or to man)
  • Prayers- (Strong’s – prayer addressed to God)
  • Intercessions – prayers for others (Strong’s – a coming together, for another cause, confiding access to God, to that of childlike confidence, by representing prayer as the heart’s conversation with God.)
  • Thanksgivings – (Strong’s – gratitude; actively, grateful language to God, as an act of worship)

These prayers were to be for ALL people (including kinds and leaders).  Why?  So that they could lead peaceful, quiet, godly, and dignified lives.  Our prayer leads to living lives that glorify God – and affects the lives of those around us.  BUT – I think that the verses following give another glimpse into WHY we should pray this way – as it is “good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.” (v 3,4 – ESV)  It is so our witness (the lives we lead) will be others to Christ!    THAT is the goal – not for us, but for those around us, including the leaders  of our land.

A – Our small group is reading about Daniel this week in “The Story”.   It struck me this morning, that Daniel and his three friends were in this place.  They were being watched.  They were selected to serve Nebuchadnezzar, and then “watched” to see if their decision to eat simply would affect their health.  They stood alone when they were asked to bow down to the King’s image.  Daniel kept praying, even when told NOT to pray to his God.   He was thrown to the lions – and lived.  The end result?   King Darius declared that Daniel’s God was the Living God! Did Daniel’s prayers affect those around him?  Most certainly – YES!

Do my prayers affect those around me?  Food for thought today.  And – a trip into my prayer journal to pray for those in my group – and those around me.

P – Father God – You continually remind me to come to You – to run to You.  I confess that I do not always run readily.  I let my day get away from me – and don’t spend that uninterrupted time of prayer and conversing with You.  Forgive me for my laxness, my laziness, my way of running through my day.  Give me the desire and the fortitude to just BE – to just BE with YOU.  Father, thank You for this reminder of prayers – of how to pray for others.  Father, I ask that You work within our world with those who lead our nation, with those who lead in our states and cities, and those who seek to lead in the next election.  Father, may You work within their lives, and the lives of those around them, so that they will see that YOU are the living God – just as King Darius saw and recognized You.

Can I Pray for You? – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6OB2WOKCHg

Leave a Reply

