Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – What to pray for…

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day Three – Read Colossians 1:3-12 ESV   SOAP Colossians 1:3-4WK5D3.jpg

Give Me Faith – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8PLBQrzWQ8

My Hope is in You Lord – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RRZgr7wNDs

3 We always thank God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, when we pray for you, 4 since we heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and of the love that you have for all the saints, 5 because of the hope laid up for you in heaven. Of this you have heard before in the word of the truth, the gospel, 6 which has come to you, as indeed in the whole world it is bearing fruit and increasing—as it also does among you, since the day you heard it and understood the grace of God in truth, 7 just as you learned it from Epaphras our beloved fellow servant. He is a faithful minister of Christ on your behalf 8 and has made known to us your love in the Spirit.

9 And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, 10 so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. 11 May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, 12 giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you[e] to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.

O – Paul’s prayer for the Colossian brothers and sisters…   He thanks God for them – because he had heard of their faith (how they lean on Him with absolute confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness), the love that they had for each other (unselfish love), and the hope that they had of an eternal future with God (a confident hope of experiencing ALL that God has waiting for them in heaven).  They had created a community based on relationship – with God and with each other.  Because of this, the gospel is “bearing fruit and increasing” – multiplying because of their love for God and for each other.  It has been passed on – from Paul, from Epaphras, and now the Colossian believers themselves.

Since he had heard about them (not even knowing them) he had been praying for them.  And – his prayer is continual – he hadn’t stopped praying, and he continues to intercede for them.  What faithfulness in his prayer!  His prayer is that cycle that my professor at Houghton College, Dr. Helen Hirsch, talked about, with her circle diagram.  Prayer for the knowing of His will (because of the wisdom, insight, and understanding of spiritual things that the Holy Spirit gives), leading to living a life worthy of God (admirable character, moral courage, and personal integrity), so that He is (fully) pleased, and that life leading to fruit-bearing, which brings us to a (steady) growing knowledge of Him (deeper faith, clearer insight and fervent love for His precepts).  But it goes on!  When we grow in knowing God, He strengthens (and invigorates) us with His power, so that we have the patience and endurance that we need, which causes us to live in thanksgiving.  Why?  Because we are qualified to share in His inheritance (we are His children) of His holy people.    (words in parenthesis are taken from the Amplified Version)

A – As I look at the diagram of the Colossian cycle, I can’t help but see that we cannot live a life worthy of the Lord, or bear fruit UNLESS we are growing in knowledge of Him, filled with the knowledge of His will (and obey it) and have the wisdom and understanding that only the Spirit can give.    And – we can only do this if we are being strengthened by His power, and keep on, keeping on.

Colossian Cycle diagram

So – how do I do that??

  • First of all, live a life of prayer – prayer not only for myself, but for others, thanking God for HIS working
  • To be filled with the knowledge of His will – to spend time in the Word, so that I KNOW and have INSIGHT into what God’s desires are for me, His good and perfect will
  • To be open to the Holy Spirit’s leading and understanding – to have an open heart – “open the eyes of my heart, Lord”
  • To live a life worthy of the Lord – to, in the ordinary days, follow Him with integrity and courage, based on my prayer and devotional life, and the leading of the Holy Spirit
  • To bear fruit – to invest in other’s for God’s kingdom
  • To keep growing in the knowledge of God – to be a part of corporate learning and growing – with others, and in my own private life
  • To be strengthened and INVIGORATED with HIS power
  • To live a life of thanksgiving – in ALL things
  • And on…. And on…. And on….

P – Father God – oh, how You have spoken to me today.  Thank You for this insight, and continued knowledge and understanding of this beautiful passage in Colossians.  Thank You for bringing past knowledge into mind today as I studied, and for expanding that into greater understanding and insight.  Father, I pray this, not only for myself, but for my fellow brothers and sisters in the Lord – that they, too, may continue to learn and grow – in You.  Father, give me a love for prayer, the devotion to You in my private life, and that it would expand to affect others.  Help me to keep on keeping on in my prayer life.  Father, fill me with the knowledge of Your will, give me understanding and insight into Your precepts and commands.  Help me to understand Your good, and perfect will.  Open the eyes of my heart, that I would be open to the Holy Spirit’s leading, step by step throughout my day.  As I go through my day today, and in the days that You give to me, I want to live a life that is worthy of You.  Help me to follow You with integrity in each action and decision, and with courage when I stand alone.  Father, I want to bear fruit, lasting fruit for Your Kingdom.  May my life be effective, and may I give of myself to others.  Help me to invest in others – for You.  May I continue to see the ways that YOU would have me minister at Crossbridge, and to invest in the lives of the women that I encounter there.  Strengthen and invigorate me with Your power.  Thank You for ALL that You have done for me – and for others.  Father, I pray this for my husband, for the women in the online study, and the women that You lead me to in my daily life.  Father, may YOU be glorified today.

Leave a Reply

