Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – What to pray for…

Leave a comment

Week Five – Day Two – Read Matthew 26:40-41 ESV   SOAP Matthew 26:41WK5D2.jpg

Yield Not to Temptation – (piano with lyrics) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGrlO8ntOQk

I need Thee Every Hour – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3wSbLa2uGg

40 And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping. And he said to Peter, “So, could you not watch with me one hour? 41 Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

O – Jesus is preparing for His death on the cross – and asked his disciples to “watch and pray” while hHe prayed further on.  When He came back, they were all asleep.  Disappointed, He asked “Couldn’t you just pray with me for one hour?  WATCH and PRAY SO THAT you don’t enter into temptation.  You may want to do that – but the flesh is weak.”  (Amplified version states “Keep actively watching and praying.”)

A – There is more to praying than being willing.  It takes “staying power.”  Jesus said WATCH and PRAY.  There is a responsibility on our part to “gather up our loins”, to actively seek out our God in prayer.    “Ask the Savior to help you, comfort, strengthen and keep you,” the words to “Yield not to Temptation” ministers to me today.  “Through faith we shall conquer, though often cast down – He Who is our Savior our strength will renew…”  It is “keeping on keeping on….” – which will help us NOT to give in to temptation to NOT pray.

P – Father God, I need You, oh, I need You.  Every hour, I need You.  You are permanent, solid, a rock, while I waver.  Father, help me to be strong, consistent, and to NOT give in to the temptation to be lax.  Give me staying power to be diligent with my prayer life – to pray for others, to praise You, to lift up my concerns, and to give YOU the glory.  Thank You for Your loving care, Your forgiveness, and Your patience with me.

 

Leave a Reply

