Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – What to Pray for…

Leave a comment

Day One – Read Ephesians 1:15-18 ESV   SOAP Ephesians 1:17WK5D1.jpg

The Greatest Thing in All my Life – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsqxgJYklxs

Open the Eyes of my heart – (Oslo Gospel Choir) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qxz7047yuCQ

Open the Eyes of my Heart – (Michael W Smith) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idQ1n3cdgfo

15 For this reason, because I have heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love toward all the saints, 16 I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, 17 that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him, 18 having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, 19 and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his great might

O – What is Paul asking God for?

  • Spirit of wisdom (deep and personal and intimate insight)
  • Spirit of revelation
  • Knowledge of God (true knowledge of God – for we know the Father through the Son)
  • To enlighten the eyes of their hearts (the very center and core of our being – flooded with light by the Holy Spirit)
  • To know the hope to which God has called us (to know and cherish the hope – the divine guarantee, the confident expectation)
  • To know the riches of His glorious inheritance in the saints (God’s people)
  • To know the immeasurable greatness of His power toward us who believe – His incomparably great power for us who believe (the immeasurable and unlimited and surpassing greatness of His active and spiritual power)

A – What does all this mean for us – today?

  • That God would reveal Himself – give me deep and personal insight into His character and person – that I would not only see this, but KNOW it, deep inside
  • That I would have a relationship with my Father God, through His Son – that it would be an intimate relationship, because I spend time with Him
  • That I would that the eyes of my heart opened – that I would be receptive to Him – that I would know Him, be aware of His presence
  • That I would KNOW and experience the hope to which He has called me – the hope of salvation, the hope of eternal life with Him, the hope of a life lived in His presence, now. That I would live in hope
  • That I would KNOW and experience the riches of His glorious inheritance in the saints (God’s people) – that I would be a part of a community of believers – experience this richness within the community
  • To KNOW and experience His great, unlimited, immeasurable power within me – that He extends to me as His child

I see all of these as not only KNOWING God, but EXPERIENCING (living, being a part of, an intimate relationship with) God and His character.  It is beyond knowing OF or ABOUT, but KNOWING HIM.

BUT – Paul is not just praying this for Himself, but for the Ephesian believers.  He is praying for them – that THEY would experience this same knowledge and experience – that their spiritual lives would grow deeper and deeper – in relationship with Him.

P – Father God, reveal Yourself to me today.  Give me insight into Your character, into Your person, so I can know You better.  Deeper my relationship with You – in time, in depth of insight.  Open the eyes of my heart, Father, so that I will be receptive to Your Spirit’s leading, and that I would be aware of Your presence throughout my ordinary, daily life.  Help me to KNOW and experience the Hope to which You have called me, and give me the ability to share that hope with others.  Father, help me to KNOW and experience the richness of the community of saints that You have brought me to, and help me to minister to them.  Father – I want to KNOW you more, to have You be the greatest thing in all my life.  Thank You for Your incredible love, Your incredible patience, and Your presence in my life.

The Greatest Thing in All my Life – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsqxgJYklxs

 

Leave a Reply

