Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – How to Pray

Leave a comment

Day Four – Read Mark 11:23-24 ESV    SOAP Mark 11:24WK4D4

Sweet Hour of Prayer – (Casting Crowns) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-oh0QBjWC4

Trust His Heart – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLn0cRl-0GE

23 Truly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and thrown into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that what he says will come to pass, it will be done for him. 24 Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.  (ESV)

 For this reason I am telling you, whatever things you ask for in prayer [in accordance with God’s will], believe [with confident trust] that you have received them, and they will be given to you. (AMP)

O – What does this have to do with prayer?   Jesus is saying that we have to pray – BELIEVING that it will be answered – or what we pray for, we will receive.  SO – it is praying with faith, not doubt.   Another text in James affirms this:  “ If any of you lacks wisdom , he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.  But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. “ (James 1:5,6)  Also, as we read Psalm 37 earlier this week, “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  (Psalm 37:4)  This also implies that when we “delight” ourselves in the Lord, our desires also match up with His for us.  It is NOT an automatic “whatever I want – He will give me”, but “what I ask, according to His will – He will bestow upon me.”  It IS different!  The Amplified text also gives the qualifier of praying “in accordance with God’s will”.

A – When I pray – do I REALLY ask according to His will?  Do I consider that – along with what I am requesting?  AND – do I pray – BELIEVING that God will not only hear, but that He will answer?  Am I satisfied with a “No” or a “not yet” as my answer?  And – not knowing if it is no or not yet – do I boldly keep seeking Him to be able to discern this?  As I read of others’ struggles with waiting and believing, how do I separate or discern the “not yet?”  That is the importance of praying WITHIN God’s will – knowing that HE will determine what is best.  THAT is the struggle of waiting…. For me.

P – Father God – thank You for Your faithfulness in answered prayer.  Thank You that I can come to You with my requests – knowing that You HEAR and ANSWER.  Help me to determine Your will, and to ask according to it.  You are all powerful, and ever present.  You are my rock and fortress.  You are my Heavenly Father – who loves me.  You answer prayer – and have told me to come to Your throne, boldly, without reservation, to present my requests to You.  Father, thank You for Your constant care and the knowledge that You do, indeed have a plan for my life – and for that of others.  Help me to discern what YOU have for me, today, and prompt me to hear – and obey.

Leave a Reply

