Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – How to Pray

Leave a comment

Day Three – Read Luke 18:1-7 ESV   SOAP Luke 18:1,7WK4D3.jpg

Hear My Cry, O Lord – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wqbWzOJ0D34

O Master Let me Walk with Thee – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NepzGvMSKs0

And he told them a parable to the effect that they ought always to pray and not lose heart. 2 He said, “In a certain city there was a judge who neither feared God nor respected man. 3 And there was a widow in that city who kept coming to him and saying, ‘Give me justice against my adversary.’ 63

4 For a while he refused, but afterward he said to himself, ‘Though I neither fear God nor respect man, 5 yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will give her justice, so that she will not beat me down by her continual coming.’” 6 And the Lord said, “Hear what the unrighteous judge says. 7 And will not God give justice to his elect, who cry to him day and night? Will he delay long over them?

O – Jesus’ parable about the widow shows both her persistence AND God’s willingness to answer.  She kept going, and going, and going to a judge for her petition.  He didn’t fear God – nor did he care about the needs of others.  But – she kept going!  Finally, he gave in to her, answer her request for justice – just to keep her from bothering him!  But God – He IS righteous!  Won’t He give justice – just because?  Just because He IS righteous – and He listens!

A – How often am I guilty of presenting requests to God – and leaving them?  How often do I KEEP praying for a need, presenting it over and over?  I am guilty of that.   How can I change that in my life?  First of all, writing down and keeping record.  I am negligent in that area of my life.  But, I have seen how I have grown tremendously in writing down my reflections of my Bible study for over two years, now.  I am convicted to keep record of prayer requests – not only for my own life – but for others.   When I say that I’ll pray – I do – BUT – I need to CONTINUE to pray!

Scripture for thinking about today:

James 5:16 – The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.  – just after this verse, James mentions Elijah, who prayed that it would not rain – for 3 ½ years.  He prayed ERNESTLY.  It did not rain!  Then, he prayed again for it to rain, and it did.  Hmmm…. Do I pray for 3 ½ years for a need – or even 3 ½ months??

Matthew 7:7,8 – “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks fins, and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”  My study bible notes that these words are in the present imperative tense – indication CONSTANT asking, seeking and knocking!!

P – Father God – I confess that I am NOT persistent in my prayers.  Oh yes, I pray, and You know.  But I am not persistent.  Father, give me a persistent, bold spirit that approaches Your throne of grace and mercy, Your kind and loving spirit – and the ability to present my requests to You – over and over and over again.  Father, give me a spirit that asks, seeks, and knocks – continually.  May my voice not be a constant dripping faucet of words, but a continual flow of communication and communion with You.  Thank You for Your patience with me, for Your loving care, and Your ever present Spirit in my life.

Leave a Reply

