Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – How to pray…

Leave a comment

Day One – Read Psalm 62 ESV    SOAP Psalm 62:8WK4D1.jpg

I Have Found a Fortress in the Living God – (Robin Mark) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLsvgKngT60

My soul Finds rest in God alone… – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSp-3kvKQZs

For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. 2 He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.

3 How long will all of you attack a man to batter him, like a leaning wall, a tottering fence? 4 They only plan to thrust him down from his high position. They take pleasure in falsehood. They bless with their mouths, but inwardly they curse.

5 For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. 6 He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. 7 On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.

8 Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us.

9 Those of low estate are but a breath; those of high estate are a delusion; in the balances they go up; they are together lighter than a breath. 10 Put no trust in extortion; set no vain hopes on robbery; if riches increase, set not your heart on them.

11 Once God has spoken; twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God, 12 and that to you, O Lord, belongs steadfast love. For you will render to a man according to his work.

O – Today, I took out my NIV study Bible to read this passage.  I’ve been reading online on biblegateway.com –using ESV, Message and Amplified Version.   Today,  I noticed what I had highlighted a number of years ago…   “my soul finds rest in God alone” (v 1), “find rest, o my soul, in God alone” (v 5), “trust in Him at all times” (v 9), “ Pour out your hearts to Him (v. 8), “two things have I heard:  that You, O God, are strong, and that You, O Lord, are loving.” (v. 11,12)  Because God is STRONG and LOVING – we can find rest in Him, we can pour our hearts out to Him, and we can trust Him.  Why can we do this?

  • He is my rock (v. 1, 6,7)
  • He is my salvation (v. 1, 6)
  • He is my fortress (v. 1, 6)
  • He is my refuge (v. 7,8)

What comes from God?

  • My salvation (v. 1,7)
  • My hope (v. 5)
  • My honor (v. 7)

A – What a blessing to know that I can “pour out my heart” to Him!!  But it is also a blessing, for me, to KNOW that I can find my REST in Him!  My soul often feels like it needs rest – a respite in life, an oasis in troubling times, a rock in times of turmoil or uncertainty.  And yet – I can find rest in Him ALONE.  My rest will NOT come from sleep, or busyness, or others – it will come from God alone.  I can TRUST Him – because He is God.  He encourages us to pour out our hearts to Him – to let Him know exactly what we are feeling.  I need to do that – to be honest with Him – to let Him know how I am feeling, so He can be my rock, my refuge, my shelter, my fortress, and yes – my honor.   But, my responsibility, (and yes, it IS my responsibility), is to pour out my heart to Him – to be honest, straight-forward, no-glossing-over (I’m SO good at that…), no pretending – with Him.  HE KNOWS anyways!   He knows me better than I know myself (Psalm 139), so I can’t fool Him!

P – Oh, Lord, You ARE my rock and my fortress.  You are my salvation.  You bring hope and honor to me – through Your strength and character.  Help me to see You in this light – and to depend on You.  I know that You know me.   I want to be in right standing with You – to be honest with You with my feelings.  Father God, help me to open up to You.  You know my reticence and difficulty in describing feelings.  Give me the thoughts and the words to express to YOU how I feel.  Give me honesty.  Help me to NOT gloss over those negative feelings and emotions – and express them directly to You.  Help me to work through them – in You.  Thank You for being my rock and my refuge – for being under Your wings of protection.  You are my God.  Help me to find rest in You – alone.

Leave a Reply

