Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Different Kinds of Prayer

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day Five – Read Psalm 140 ESV   SOAP Psalm 140:9 – 11WK3D5.jpg

Prayer for a Friend – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYZ5z5qhKJI

Slow Fade – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUrlV6uR7rQ

Deliver me, O Lord, from evil men; preserve me from violent men, 2 who plan evil things in their heart and stir up wars continually. 3 They make their tongue sharp as a serpent’s, and under their lips is the venom of asps.

4 Guard me, O Lord, from the hands of the wicked; preserve me from violent men, who have planned to trip up my feet. 5 The arrogant have hidden a trap for me, and with cords they have spread a net; beside the way they have set snares for me.

6 I say to the Lord, You are my God; give ear to the voice of my pleas for mercy, O Lord! 7 O Lord, my Lord, the strength of my salvation, you have covered my head in the day of battle. 8 Grant not, O Lord, the desires of the wicked; do not further their[b] evil plot, or they will be exalted!

9 As for the head of those who surround me, let the mischief of their lips overwhelm them! 10 Let burning coals fall upon them! Let them be cast into fire, into miry pits, no more to rise! 11 Let not the slanderer be established in the land; let evil hunt down the violent man speedily!

12 I know that the Lord will maintain the cause of the afflicted, and will execute justice for the needy. 13 Surely the righteous shall give thanks to your name; the upright shall dwell in your presence.

O – David is pouring out his heart to the Lord in respect to those evil doers who plot against him.  How does he handle this?  He asks for deliverance and protection from the Lord.  He goes to God FIRST.  He uses words such as deliver, preserve, guard,  and plea to describe how he implores God to act.  How does he describe the wicked?  Evil, violent, planning evil, stirring up wars, sharp serpent’s tongue, venom, wicked, hiding traps, set snares.   This is not just a small offense – this is attacks!  David asks GOD to deal with it – and him.  He asks God to guard and protect him, to deal with the wicked (let the mischief of their lips overwhelm them, to be cast into fire or pits, to execute justice).

A –  What does this mean for me today?  First of all, I need to realize that God needs to deal with evil men – not me.  This is HIS job –not mine!  Secondly, David prays for release – and for God to release and protect him.   I need to pour my heart out to God – for HIS release and protection.  Thirdly, he prays for natural consequences, as well as spiritual.  (may the mischief of their lips overwhelm them – let them be cast into the fire, the Lord will execute justice for the needy).  At the end, David reiterates his trust in the Lord, and gives thanks for God’s workings.

P – Father God – You are the God of mercy – and of justice.  Thank You for Your mercy towards me.  Thank You that You WILL prevail – over the wicked and the unjust.  You are supreme.  You are all-powerful.  You are Just.  As You see injustice in our world, I pray that You will deal with it – in Your way and in Your time.  Help me, help us – to put our trust in You, knowing the end results will not only bring honor and glory to Your name, but will also bring Your justice into our injust world.  Thank You, Father, that I can come to You – knowing that You not only hear – but that You answer.

Leave a Reply

