Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Different Kinds of Prayer

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 4 – Read Hebrews 13:15 ESV   SOAP Hebrews 13:15WK3D4.jpg

We Bring the Sacrifice of Praise – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qz0Qb2Zzw78

15 Through him then let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips that acknowledge his name.

O – God delights in sacrifice.  But – He delights more in my heart.  Sacrifice in the Old Testament was to atone for sin.  But, God also called for a “broken spirit – a broken and contrite heart.”  (Ps. 51:17) ).   We no longer have to offer sacrifices for atonement, for forgiveness of sins.  We need to give the sacrifice of praise – to acknowledge Him.   The aroma from sacrifices was pleasing to the Lord  (Ex. 29:41, Lev. 4:31, Number 15:3, etc  Just as the aroma of burnt sacrifices was pleasing – the sacrifice of praise – the calling out of His name, the praise going to Him.

A – I think of sacrifice also as something that “costs”.  Is a sacrifice of praise costly?  Do I acknowledge Him with praise when it is costly?  When it is difficult to do so?  Or – do I praise Him when it is easy – when “good things” happen?  I need to acknowledge Him in ALL circumstances – and give Him praise for each one.

And I think of “sacrifice of praise” and its meaning to me today.  Most of my life, my praise has been through music, and the playing of the piano in worship.  While it is not “being up front”, but the leading in worship, the setting of tone and atmosphere, and the offering of praise through my fingers and my heart – that has been worship for me.  It has been such a huge part of my life.  Now, my worship is different.  I’m not playing the piano for worship, nor am I leading in worship.  I am participating, but it is different.  Is that MY sacrifice of praise?  Is my playing of piano, at home, for my “audience of One” my sacrifice of praise?  Sometimes, it DOES feel like a great cost.  And yes, it is difficult.  But I am learning to praise in a new way.  I do bring to Him a broken and contrite heart sometimes.  At others, it is quiet meditation.   And I am learning, and practicing to bring to Him CONTINUALLY a sacrifice of praise.  To Him.  To Him alone.   Yes – it is Him alone, but it is intimate, and full of my emotions and feelings.  It is different, and I approach worship in a different way now.

P – Father God – You know my heart.  I offer up my sacrifice of praise to You.  I give my praise, so different now – to You.  In the quiet of my living room, or in the midst of a congregation of people – my praise – to You.  Father God – may the words of my mouth (or the music from my fingers) and the meditation of my heart – be pleasing to You.  May my sacrifice of praise – the praise from my heart – be a pleasing aroma to You today – and always.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

