Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Different Kinds of Prayer

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 3.WK3D3.jpg

Read Philippians 4:5-7 ESV    SOAP Philippians 4:6

I must tell Jesus – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OstTuwrKM2Q

 I need Thee Every Hour – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZIMDcgrF-Q

5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

O – Paul instructs the Philippians, in chapter 4, of how to live.

  • First, to rejoice in everything – always. (v. 4)
  • To be reasonable – have a gentle spirit, be gracious, unselfish, merciful, patient (v. 5).
  • To NOT be anxious or worried, BUT to present our requests (everything – every circumstance and situation, worries, concerns) to God. (v. 6)
  • Our requests should be submitted in prayer and supplication (petition – prayer for ourselves) – WITH THANKSGIVING. Not complaining.
  • The result? God’s peace (that reassures our hearts) – which is beyond our understanding – will guard our hearts and our minds (our emotions, feelings and whole beings) (v. 7)

A –  What is my FIRST reaction to worry or concern?  Is it to go to the Lord in prayer – or to worry and try to take care of it myself?  I must confess, that sometimes, I do worry.  I do try to “do it myself.”  But, more and more, I am learning to go to Him.  Learning.  I have found Him faithful – and THERE.  I must tell Jesus – I cannot bear these burdens alone…  knowing this helps me to run to Him.  But – I also need to go to Him – JUST BECAUSE.   Just because He is there.  Just because He is faithful.  Just because HE calls me to Him.  Just because He is God.  Just because.  He is THERE.

P – Oh Lord God – You are THERE.  You are HERE.   Thank You for Your faithful presence – You promised to never leave or forsake me – and You never have.  You have walked with me through trials, through sorrow, through worry, through times of great stress.  You have given me Your Peace – the peace that passeth all understanding.  Thank You for your faithfulness.  Your presence and peace have guarded my heart and my mind – for so many years.  Keep me close to You.  Remind me of Your faithfulness – in my daily life, not just the times of worry and concern.

Leave a Reply

