Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Week Three – Day 1

Leave a comment

Day One – Read Psalm 145:1-13 ESV    SOAP Psalm 145: 1 -3WK3D1.jpg

Bless the Lord, O My Soul (10,000 Reasons) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXDGE_lRI0E&list=RDOaOIdhPLqeQ&index=2

Great is the Lord – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaOIdhPLqeQ

I will extol you, my God and King, and bless your name forever and ever. 2 Every day I will bless you and praise your name forever and ever. 3 Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised, and his greatness is unsearchable.

4 One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts. 5 On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate. 6 They shall speak of the might of your awesome deeds, and I will declare your greatness. 7 They shall pour forth the fame of your abundant goodness and shall sing aloud of your righteousness.

8 The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love. 9 The Lord is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made.

10 All your works shall give thanks to you, O Lord, and all your saints shall bless you! 11 They shall speak of the glory of your kingdom and tell of your power, 12 to make known to the children of man your mighty deeds, and the glorious splendor of your kingdom. 13 Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures throughout all generations. [The Lord is faithful in all his words and kind in all his works.]

O – God is great – and greatly to be praised!  This psalm tells of the ways that we can praise Him –

  • To extol Him – exalt Him
  • To bless His name – with gratitude and submissive wonder
  • TO bless Him – DAILY
  • To Praise His name with awe-inspired reverence
  • To speak to other generations of Him
  • To commend His works to others – the act of speaking favorably of someone
  • To declare His mighty and remarkable acts
  • To meditate on what He has done – His glorious splendor and wonderful works
  • To declare His greatness and abundant goodness
  • To sing aloud of His righteousness – joyfully!
  • TO reiterate His qualities – He is gracious, merciful, slow to anger, abounding steadfast love, His goodness,
  • TO speak of the glory of His kingdom and His power
  • To make His deeds known to others

A – When I think of the acronyms of prayer (ACTS – Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, Supplication) or  (PRAY – Praise, Repentance, Asking, YES – pray His words) – I see that praise and adoration come FIRST!  I must confess that I don’t spend as much time praising Him.  I know that I pray for needs, and requests.  BUT – I need to remember that PRAISE comes first!  I MUST praise Him.  When I look over this list of ways that I can praise Him, or what I could praise Him for, I am humbled.  I have been writing down His names in my notebook, so I can pray them.  I also need to remember what He has done – and praise Him for it.  I also need to declare His mighty acts to others – that in itself is praise!!!

I am convicted to finish my notebook so I can continue to use it in prayer – to praise Him, to extol and bless Him.  As I worked on it earlier last week, I remembered (recalled!) things that He had done in my life.  I remembered how His names have ministered to me.   There are SO many things that He has done (Think – 10,000 reasons!) – so why don’t I recall them – to Him??  As I work on my cross stitch project of His names, I WILL recall His names and praise Him for WHO He is!  That is my goal – to use this project to recall and praise Him – so that every stitch is filled with praise!

P – Father God – YOU are the mighty God, the God over all gods.  You alone are God.  Thank You for Your mighty works in my life. You have saved me, and brought meaning to my life.  You have been Jehovah Jireh, my Provider.  You have been the God who Sees – El Roi.  You have seen my needs – and met them.  You promised to never leave or forsake me – and You never have.  You have been with me when I was alone.  And – You are still with me – whether I am in MA or IN.  Thank You for Your faithful, daily presence in my life.  Father – help me to recall what You have done – and to speak Your praises to others.  Give me opportunities to share Your love today.  And may YOU receive the honor and the glory – for great things You have done!

Leave a Reply

