Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Week Two – Day 5

Leave a comment

Day Five – Read John 15:1-5 ESV    SOAP John 15:5WK2D5.jpg

I Am the Vine – John Michael Talbot – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHr7Z7ZS3GE

Abide with Me – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmjuqZSH_aY

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. 3 Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. 4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. 5 I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

O – Jesus knew that He could do nothing without the Father.  He describes Himself as the vine – the life-giving part of the plant.  There is NO LIFE apart from the vine!  So – the branches need to be a part of the vine.  There is NO FRUIT apart from the vine.  There is NOTHING apart from the vine.  In the same way – there is NO LIFE apart from Christ.   There is NO FRUIT apart from Christ.  There is NOTHING apart from Christ!  Abiding in Christ is living in Him, depending on Him, receiving life from Him.  If so – then fruit can be born.

A – Recently, I was given a “baby” from a spider plant.  I planted it, but after a few weeks, there was nothing.  No roots, no new growth.  The bottom was slightly rotted.  It was trying to live apart from the vine.  (I have now put it in water to “root” it, and it is doing much better!)  It is a living example of “living apart from the vine!

My life depends upon clinging and “being rooted” and grounded in Christ and in His Word.  Without abiding in Christ, I do not have “roots”, nor do I receive the spiritual nourishment that I so need!  And, I do find that that more I am in the word, the more I am aware that I NEED to be in the word!  That image of rotted roots is not pretty – nor is the Christian who does not get deeply rooted and established in Him!

P – Father God – You are the vine – and I am a branch.  Keep me abiding in You.   You give strength and power, and sustaining life.  I desire that sustenance in my life – so that I can be a living, vibrant example of Your life.  You are Life itself.  Father I know that there is no life apart from You, no fruit apart from You – NOTHING apart from You.  Draw me unto Yourself so that I will be a testimony of Your love, Your saving power, and that I will bear fruit that glorifies You.  Root and ground me in Your Word, so that I will live for You, day in and day out.

Leave a Reply

