Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Week Two – Day 2

Leave a comment

 Day Two – Read Mark 1:35 ESV  and Matthew 14:23     SOAP Mark 1:35WK2D2.jpg

O For a closer Walk with God – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wWVpafJX8A

Mark 1:35  (ESV) – And rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, he departed and went out to a desolate place, and there he prayed.

Matthew 14:23 (ESV)  And after he had dismissed the crowds, he went up on the mountain by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone,

O – Jesus took time out of his day to pray.   He rose early in the morning (still dark!) and went out by himself to pray.  But, after a busy, hectic day, he also went by himself to pray.  It sounds like this was just what he did – he went by himself, regularly, and prayed.  He communicated with His Father.  He made that effort – beyond those “momentary” prayers, to take a quantity of time to be by himself to pray.

A – I also noted that Jesus did this early in the morning.  With my new schedule, it is much easier for me to take time each day, early in the morning, to study, read, and pray.  When I was teaching full time, I did that at night.  But, now – it is dark at 6:20 AM – and that is a good time for me!  And – I have found that I have to have a set place – with no distractions, to pray.  While I do my study on the laptop at my desk, I can’t pray there.  There are too many distractions!   I have to go to the living room to my favorite chair – no internet, no laptop or phone, but my notes, maybe a bible, and sometimes some music.  There is the sense of “departing” or “going away” that I need in order to take time to pray!  While I am away, one of my goals is to finish setting up my prayer notebook, so I can be more organized and accountable when I go back home to my chair in the living room!

P – Father God – You are my sustainer and provider.  Thank You for your loving care, and your protection over my life.  You have drawn me towards You.  Father – give me the desire, the heart, and the perseverance to come to You daily.  I know that You desire my presence.  You are ready to communicate with me.  You are there – all the time.  Bring my heart closer to Yours.  When I am tired, give me Your strength.  When I falter, and fail – help me to come back to You.  Father, I desire Your heart  – and a closer walk with you.

O for a closer walk with God,
A calm and heavenly frame,
A light to shine upon the road
That leads me to the Lamb!

Where is the blessedness I knew,
When first I saw the Lord?
Where is the soul refreshing view
Of Jesus and His Word?

What peaceful hours I once enjoyed!
How sweet their memory still!
But they have left an aching void
The world can never fill.

Return, O holy Dove, return,
Sweet messenger of rest!
I hate the sins that made Thee mourn
And drove Thee from my breast.

The dearest idol I have known,
Whate’er that idol be
Help me to tear it from Thy throne,
And worship only Thee.

So shall my walk be close with God,
Calm and serene my frame;
So purer light shall mark the road
That leads me to the Lamb.

Leave a Reply

