Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Week One – Day 5

Leave a comment

WK1D5.jpg

Read Romans 15:30 and Colossians 1:9  SOAP Colossians 1:9

Romans 15:30 ESV I appeal to you, brothers, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to strive together with me in your prayers to God on my behalf.

Colossians 1:9 ESV
9 And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding.

O – What strong language Paul uses to encourage his brothers and sisters to pray: appeal, strive, not ceased, urge, join together with me, not stop asking specifically (ESV and AMP). Prayer is work! He asks them, no – appeals to them to STRIVE together. That means praying together – earnestly, fervently, consistently! Strive (in the online thesaurus) means – struggle, endeavor, go all-out, do your utmost. That is not a “once” prayer – it is over and over – with meaning and feeling! He also says that they have not ceased praying. That also means over and over – and over and over! The requests are spiritual in nature – for the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding. This means knowing what GOD has for us, and being willing and able to follow through by living that way. That is why he had to strive and not cease in prayer!

A – When I pray, do I strive and CONTINUE to pray for things that I know I need to pray for? Do I pray a few times – and then leave it? I see the importance of a prayer notebook or journal to record those prayers and prayer requests – so I can REMEMBER to pray and REMEMBER to rejoice over answered prayer. But, I am convicted of the lack of my continued prayer for things that I know. I need to struggle, endeavor, go all-out in my prayer life!

P – Father God – again You convict me of my own lack in prayer. While I pray – and pray consistently – it is not the continued, fervent prayer that I see in Your Word. You ask me to come to Your throne – You give me anytime access – and yet I don’t do that. I come to You when I know a need. I come to You daily – but I don’t fervently and consistently, over and over again – bring my requests to You. I know that You don’t refuse our access. I know that You want me to come to You. Give me a heart for You – for communicating with You, so that it is not only natural, but not ceasing. Help me to grow in the knowledge and understanding of YOU. You are the great God – God over all gods, creator of heaven and earth, and all powerful. Yet – You desire my presence and relationship with You. Create in me a fervent and supple heart – one that seeks You – and You alone.

Speak, O Lord –(Getty) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubRlJj8xkds

Leave a Reply

