Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Week One – Day 4

Leave a comment

Read Psalm 145:1 -7    SOAP v 1,2WK1D4.jpg

Psalm 145:1 – 7 – 1 I will extol you, my God and King, and bless your name forever and ever. 2 Every day I will bless you and praise your name forever and ever. 3 Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised, and his greatness is unsearchable.   4 One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts. 5 On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate. 6 They shall speak of the might of your awesome deeds, and I will declare your greatness. 7 They shall pour forth the fame of your abundant goodness and shall sing aloud of your righteousness.

O – This psalm of praise is filled with descriptions of how WE can praise God.  As prayer time should start with praise, this is a great reminder of how I can praise God in my prayers.  (taken from ESV and AMP)

  • To extol Him – to exalt
  • Bless His name forever and ever – with gratitude and submissive wonder
  • EVERY DAY bless and praise Him – forever and ever! (lovingly praise Him with awe-inspired reverence)
  • Praise Him for His greatness – it is unsearchable (so vast and profound that it is incomprehensible to man)
  • Teach the younger generation to praise – encourage the older generation to praise Him as well!
  • To declare aloud His mighty (and remarkable) acts
  • To meditate on the “glorious splendor of His majesty” and on His wondrous works – what He has done
  • To speak of the might (power) of His awesome deeds (with gratitude and submissive wonder) – to tell others of what He has done
  • To spread the word of His (great and abundant) goodness to us (pour forth the fame)
  • To sing His praises (I think play, as well, for me) JOYFULLY!

A – So – how does that translate into MY everyday life??  (especially in my prayer life….)

  • To start my day (and my prayers) with gratitude and thanksgiving – not requests
  • To tell HIM how great He is – to bless His name
  • To use His names (Jehovah, Adonai, Yahweh, Jehovah Jireh, etc….) in my prayers to Him
  • To bless and praise Him DAILY – consistently
  • To meditate on who He is, what He has done
  • To teach younger ones in my life (grandchildren), to encourage our children as they raise their children in His ways, to encourage the older ones in my life (mom, other women) in their own growth and praise
  • To speak of what God has done – to others – to praise Him in front of others!
  • To speak of what God has done in other ways (Facebook, my blog, in letters and emails)
  • To praise Him in worship (singing, playing piano, meditating on worship music….)
  • To WRITE DOWN my thoughts, my prayers, my meditations, so I can go back and reflect on what I have learned of Him
  • To actively, reflectively, and enthusiastically praise Him – through my daily life

Oh, what a list!!  Do I do this?  How can I incorporate these things in my life?  While I do some of these things, there is so much more that I should be doing!  I think as I become more and more close to Him – my praise will come out naturally.  I can already sense the difference from November of 2012, when I started recording what I was reading and learning.  But – I need to actively and naturally give praise to Him in my ordinary, every-day life.  Does my life reflect who I am – in Him?  Do my actions, my facebook postings, my interactions with people – reflect Him?  When something good happens, do I praise Him – in front of others?  Do I TELL, and RETELL, His wondrous deeds?  May I actively, reflectively, and enthusiastically praise Him – in my ordinary, daily life!

P – Oh Father God – You truly are my Father, the One who never leaves me and loves me with an unconditional, everlasting love.  You are Jehovah – God – the One above all others.  You are Jehovah-Jireh, my Provider.  Oh, Lord, YOU have provided everything that I need, and more.  You have given me blessing upon blessing, forgiveness of sin, access to Your Holy throne, and the promise of life everlasting – with You.  Thank You, Father – for Your grace upon my life.  Help me to spread the word of Your love, Your saving power, Your grace and mercy – to those around me.  Give me Your love for people, for Your people, for those who do not yet know You.  Father, as I prepare to travel back to my hometown, prepare the way, so I can share Your love, tell of Your wondrous deeds, and encourage those around me.  Help me to actively, reflectively, and enthusiastically praise You – and tell of Your wondrous deeds!

 Great is the Lord

 I Call Your NameI Call Your Name

 I Sing Praises to Your Name

Leave a Reply

