Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Week One – Day 3

Leave a comment

DAY THREE – Wednesday – Read Jeremiah 10:6-7 ESV   SOAP Jeremiah 10:6-7

WK1D3There is None Like You – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnhUh2tt97Q

6 There is none like you, O Lord; you are great, and your name is great in might. 7 Who would not fear you, O King of the nations? For this is your due; for among all the wise ones of the nations and in all their kingdoms there is none like you.

O – There is no one like God – He is like no other!  There is no comparing Him with any other gods – there IS no other God!  Even His name is great!  There is none like You!

A – I recently purchased a cross stitch pattern of the names of God (along with the free JehovahLGversion of the names of Jesus).  I was impressed several months ago when I attended church with Paul’s daughter’s family in Wisconsin, that the church had a large mural, with the names of God inscribed on it.  When I saw the cross stitch pattern, I wanted that same reminder in my home.   There is nothing like SEEING it in front of your face!  There is power in the name of God.  We plan to hang it in our living room – where each of us spend time in prayer.   When I need to “escape” my laptop and desk, I go into the living room, put on worship music, and bask in His presence.  Sitting in my chair with my Bible or notebook in hand, I have found a place where I can get rid of the clutter of my life – and….. Just.   Sit.  Worship.  Pray.

In thinking through today’s verse, I also relate that this God, MY God, the God that is like NONE OTHER, is the VERY SAME GOD who calls us to the throne of grace and mercy!  We can approach Him boldly, with confidence, knowing that He calls us there.  This God, like no other, who is great, and whose name is great – calls me to Him!  He beckons me.  He urges me – into His presence.  Not for punishment or condemnation, but to know Him.  To find grace and mercy.  It is THAT God who deserves praise and honor and blessing – as He is over all others.  There is none like You!

P – Oh, Father God, there is none like You.  You are above all gods.  You are great, and Your name is great!  Yet, You call me to you, beckon me, to come to You.  To find grace that I don’t deserve, and mercy so I don’t receive the punishment that I do deserve.  Oh God, thank You for Your wondrous works – of creation, of new life, of a cleansed heart, of a life that is beyond my imagination.  Thank You – Father God.  Thinking that I can call You Father – and yet You are still the God over all gods, that is amazing.  Father – draw me close to You today, and help me to see Your power around me.  Give me Your strength and love for others today.

Leave a Reply

