Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Growing Through Prayer – Week One – Day 2

Leave a comment

DAY TWO – Tuesday – Read Hebrews 4:15-16 ESV   SOAP Hebrews 4:16

WK1D2

15 For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. 16 Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace,  that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

O – Jesus Christ, our Great High Priest, the incarnate One, fully human and fully divine – HE is there for us!  He understands our temptations and humanness, as He was fully human, yet without sin.  He is able to forgive our sins, as He is fully divine, full of the power of God.  He understands us.  He understands ME.  I can approach His throne with confidence, boldly, knowing that I’ve been invited to come.  It is his grace (unmerited favor) that draws me in.  In so doing, I find grace and mercy.  Thankfully, I don’t get what I DO deserve, and get what I DON’T deserve!

From Strong’s Concordance – Grace (charis) – of the merciful kindness by which God, exerting his holy influence upon souls, turns them to Christ, keeps, strengthens, increases them in Christian faith, knowledge, affection, and kindles them to the exercise of the Christian virtues

Mercy (elios) – of God towards men: in general providence; the mercy and clemency of God in providing and offering to men salvation by Christ

A – As I read the words to the worship song below, I was overcome with the thought of what Christ has done for me, to allow me to even approach the throne of God.  I deserve death for my sin.  I don’t deserve to approach Him.  But, I am invited to come boldly, with confidence, into His presence – to find grace and mercy.  Not condemnation.  Grace.  Mercy.  What I don’t deserve.  Not what I DO deserve.  I am invited.  I am commanded to approach Him – confidently.   Why don’t I do that – with every breath that I take?  Why don’t I approach Him with the confidence of a little child – running to the Father?  Do I really think that I can solve my own problems, problems of my making, or supernaturally take His place in overseeing my life?  This is not presenting God my laundry list of requests, but humbly, confidently entering into His presence – to receive His grace and mercy – freely bestowed upon me.  It is relationship.  Not requests.  It is conversation.  Not condemnation.  It is love.  Not duty.  It is privilege.  Not responsibility.  It is freedom.  Not bondage.

P – Oh, Father God, You again convict me of my reticence, my unwillingness, my self-assuredness.   I need Your mercy.  I need Your grace.  In my life.  In all its parts.  Father, cleanse my heart so that it is clean and pure.  Explore my attitudes and make them right.  Help me to fully comprehend Your grace and mercy in my life – so that I may live in full realization and the power that You give me.  Help me to give up my pride to come to You.  Thank You for Your lovingkindness towards me.  I give You praise for Who You are, for what You have done, and for what You are doing in my heart.  I give You my heart, my life, my ambitions, so that I can live for You, and You alone.

“Boldly I Approach (The Art Of Celebration)” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QDnVD7gu5Y

By grace alone somehow I stand
Where even angels fear to tread
Invited by redeeming love
Before the throne of God above
He pulls me close with nail-scarred hands
Into His everlasting arms

When condemnation grips my heart
And Satan tempts me to despair
I hear the voice that scatters fear
The Great I Am the Lord is here
Oh praise the One who fights for me
And shields my soul eternally

Boldly I approach Your throne
Blameless now I’m running home
By Your blood I come
Welcomed as Your own
Into the arms of majesty

Behold the bright and risen Son
More beauty than this world has known
I’m face to face with Love Himself
His perfect spotless righteousness
A thousand years, a thousand tongues
Are not enough to sing His praise

Boldly I approach Your throne
Blameless now I’m running home
By Your blood I come
Welcomed as Your own
Into the arms of majesty
[x2]

This is the art of celebration
Knowing we’re free from condemnation
Oh praise the One, praise the One
Who made an end to all my sin
[x2]

Boldly I approach Your throne
Blameless now I’m running home
By Your blood I come
Welcomed as Your own
Into the arms of majesty

Leave a Reply

