Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jesus

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 3WK6D3.png

Read  1 Timothy 1:15-17 SOAP – 1 Timothy 1:15

The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost. But I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience as an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life. To the King of the ages,  immortal,  invisible,  the only God, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen. (ESV)

This is a faithful and trustworthy statement, deserving full acceptance and approval, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, among whom I am foremost. 16 Yet for this reason I found mercy, so that in me as the foremost [of sinners], Jesus Christ might demonstrate His perfect patience as an example or pattern for those who would believe in Him for eternal life. 17 Now to the King of the ages [eternal], immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen. (AMP)

O – This is SO TRUE!   Christ came to this world to save sinners.  I am a sinner.  I know that we all like to gloss over our own sins, compared to the “horrible” sins of others.  BUT – God doesn’t categorize sin.  Paul’s comment about being the foremost of sinners points out that we need to accept and acknowledge that our own sins are horrible in God’s sight.  If we recognize that, we also can show that God loves us, and His Son died for us.  This is an example to point out to others.  “Look – He saved me.  He lives in me.  He can do the same for you!”  We are the “example or pattern” to others who “would believe in Him for eternal life!”  THIS is why we give Him glory!  He is eternal, immortal, invisible – the ONLY GOD!  THIS is the God who loves us.  Personally.   Intimately.  For real.

A – DO I live what I just wrote?  Do I believe that this passage from I Timothy deserves full acceptance and approval – that it is faithful and trustworthy?  If so , WHY DON’T I live that out?   DO I look for ways to share His love?  Do I go out of my way to point out my Savior to those I encounter?  Do I look for ways to converse with those who don’t know Him?  Does my Facebook page reflect my faith – or my daily life?  What is the example or pattern that I am setting for others – so they can see Christ.  Oh, that Christ would be shining through me – and that I would not only seize the opportunities, but seek them out.

P – Father God, You have saved me, brought me into a life that this full and meaningful – because of Your Son.  Father, live through me today.  May my thoughts, my words, my actions, shine for You today.  May I seize opportunities – and seek them out – to share Your Love.  Live in me – today.  May You receive honor and glory through my life, reflecting Your love and forgiveness.

A King like This  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-OsAKBFtEr4

“A King Like This”
A King like this, majesty
Laying in a manger
A King like this
Unto us is born a Savior
The Light, the Light has come
A King like this, the highest
Name and the song of heaven
A King like this born of
Flesh into our suffering
The Light, the Light has come

He is Christ, the Lord
He is Christ, our Savior
I bow my heart before no other name
I bow my heart before no other King

A King like this, a saving
Love that would not forsake us
Betrayed by a kiss and led
To the cross for our forgiveness
The Light, the Light has come

He is Christ, the Lord
He is Christ, our Savior
I bow my heart before no other name
I bow my heart before no other King

We lift up our eyes, the
Light has come!
We lift up our eyes, the
Light has come!
We lift up our eyes, the
Light has come!
We lift up our eyes,
lift up our eyes,
Lift up Your Eyes!

He is Christ, the Lord
He is Christ, our Savior
I bow my heart before no other name
I bow my heart before no other King

A King like this, a throne of grace
That will stand forever
The angels sing glory, glory, hallelujah
The Light, the Light has come
The Light, the Light has come

Leave a Reply

