Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jesus

Leave a comment

Week Six – Day 2WK6D2.png

Mark 2:16-17 – And the scribes of[a] the Pharisees, when they saw that he was eating with sinners and tax collectors, said to his disciples, “Why does he eat[b] with tax collectors and sinners?” And when Jesus heard it, he said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.”

O – Jesus spent time with those the up and coming society thought were “sinners.” Tax collectors. Prostitutes. The “un-religious.” He was INTENTIONAL about this – he was eating with them. A social interaction. Sharing a meal is an “intimate” thing. But His reply is what was telling – ““Those who are healthy have no need of a physician, but [only]those who are sick; I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners [who recognize their sin and humbly seek forgiveness].” (AMP) Jesus came to call not the “self-righteous” (would they even hear Him?), but the ones who recognized their need for Him – and humbly asked for forgiveness.

A – Who do I willingly spend time with? Do I take time out of my day to interact with those who don’t know Him? Or – do I, like the Pharisees, spend my time with “like?” As I move into “life” here in Indy, I want to be able to meet those who need Him. Will a job bring me into more contact with the world? Or volunteering? I need to be INTENTIONAL about interacting – “eating with sinners and tax collectors.” This means I need to be proactive in meeting people, not waiting for them to meet me! Neighbors, especially. This weekend, as Paul and I deliver cookies, we need to be wise in opening conversations and taking time to listen and share.

P – Father God, thank You for coming to the world to give us Your healing and salvation. Help me in my own life to not be self-righteous, as the Pharisees were, but to humbly recognize my own need for You as my Saviour. Give me Your heart for my neighbors today. Help me to see opportunities to share Your love, and to bring Your light into our neighborhood. As I think ahead, I pray for a position that will help me to shed Your light into our dark world – and to connect with others.

O Holy Night- Josh Groban –https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17kiIIxSdC0

Oh, these words….

Long lay the world in sin and e’er pining
‘Til He appeared and the soul felt its worth

He knows our need, to our weakness is no stranger,

Truly He taught us to love one another;
His law is love and His gospel is peace.
Chains shall He break for the slave is our brother;
And in His name all oppression shall cease.

Leave a Reply

