Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Wonderful Counselor

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 5

WK4D5.png

Read Isaiah 9: 6 – 7.   SOAP v. 6

For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given;
and the government shall be upon his shoulder,
and his name shall be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the increase of his government and of peace
there will be no end,
on the throne of David and over his kingdom,
to establish it and to uphold it
with justice and with righteousness
from this time forth and forevermore.
The zeal of the Lord of hosts will do this.

O – This passage was written in the midst of a chapter of judgment – and the foretelling of a King who would be coming as promised.  No wonder the Israelites lived in hope of their coming King, although it was a “king” who would overthrow their oppressors.  As we look at this passage today, we have a “rearview mirror” look – and see this as the promise of the coming Messiah, the King of an eternal Kingdom.  This King would have titles:  Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  (I see the Trinity here as well – Counselor (Holy Spirit), Mighty God (all three!), Everlasting Father and Prince of Peace (Jesus Christ).)  Wow!  I didn’t see that, or at least think that, before.

A – Our God, wrapped up in swaddling clothes, in a manger – yet He was the promised Messiah.  No wonder the Israelites didn’t recognize Him.  He wasn’t WHO HE was supposed to be – in their minds.  DO I recognize Him?  Is He in my home, amongst the decorations and planning for Christmas?  Is He in my daily life – as I work around the house, preparing Christmas gifts, encountering people while on errands, or with the people I intentionally meet with?  Am I treating our Mighty God as the ruler of my life, ruler of the eternal Kingdom, or is He the king of my ideas of what Christmas is?  I really have to think about this!  How much of what I celebrate is honoring my coming King – or the idea of a holiday that is important in tradition, music, and customs?   As I think through this, and prepare for this first Christmas with my husband, I desire to honor HIM.  What will that look like??

P – Father God, You have convicted me, again.  Thank You for speaking to me through Your Word, and through the passages of this week.  I want to honor You this year in my celebrating of Your birth.  Speak to my heart, work within my spirit to give You the place that You deserve.  Help Paul and I to celebrate Your birth with joy, with love, and with a spirit of giving that reaches beyond the wrapped gift.  May You be the ruler of our lives, the ruler of the eternal Kingdom.  Amen.

Worthy – Hallelujah Chorus – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCSACzYQKok

For Unto Us A Child is Born (BeBe and CeCe Winans) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXbBlh-hNZM

Leave a Reply

