Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Wonderful Counselor

Leave a comment

Week Four – Day 2

Col. 2-2,3.jpg

 

Read Colossians 2:1-3 SOAP Colossians 2:3

For I want you to know how great a struggle I have for you and for those at Laodicea and for all who have not seen me face to face, that their hearts may be encouraged, being knit together in love, to reach all the riches of full assurance of understanding and the knowledge of God’s mystery, which is Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge. (ESV)

WK4D2

[For my hope is] that their hearts may be encouraged as they are knit together in [unselfish] [b]love, so that they may have all the riches that come from the full assurance of understanding [the joy of salvation], resulting in a true [and more intimate] knowledge of the [c]mystery of God, that is, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge [regarding the word and purposes of God]. (AMP)

O – Paul’s words for those in Colossae show the importance of KNOWING Christ.  He wanted their hearts to be encouraged as they were bound together in love, in working out their faith in their community life together.  The goal was to be able to understand and to know the mystery of God – Jesus Christ himself.  IN Christ are the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.  The IVP Commentary helps to explain the ideas of understanding and knowledge:  that a complete knowledge is “full accomplishment” – to understand the gospel, to give spiritual competency.  The mystery of God is the “core content of the complete gospel – namely, Christ.”  The summary of  that article stated:  “Simply put, spiritual maturity results from knowing Christ.”

A – That summary sentence touched me today:   “spiritual maturity results from knowing Christ.”  Do I spend enough time and energy to KNOW CHRIST?  Do I seek knowledge of Him, not just about Him?  Do I spend the energy that I expend on friends and family to KNOW them to KNOW HIM?  The only way that I will KNOW Him is to spend time with Him – in His Word, and in His presence!  I do know that since I have been a part of this online study, my own time with Him has been more regular, and more intimate.  Writing my thoughts down (well, typing them) has allowed me to see the progress in my relationship with Him – it has grown deeper and more practical – worked out and affecting my daily life and relationships.  Yes – I see the results of this in what Paul writes:  encouragement, hearts knitted together with others, the riches of having a fuller understanding, and a more intimate knowledge of Christ.  It IS a TREASURE – His wisdom and knowledge are being worked out in my life.   I praise Him for His work over the past two years!

P – Father God, thank You for Your working in my life over the past two years.  You have brought a fuller understanding of Your love, Your Word, and who You are.  Thank You for Your Word, which is full of aspects of Your love and character.  Help me to dig deeper in my reading and reflections; help me to learn more of You – and to apply it to my life.  May I become more like You because You are working in me to mold and shape me into Your image.  May I seek Your word as a treasure – to know and love You more.

 

He does elaborate on the spiritual purpose of his ministry for them: that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love and may have complete understanding . . . and know the mystery of God, namely, Christ.

In Paul’s Jewish psychology the heart symbolizes human volition rather than human emotion; the hard decisions of an embattled life are made by the believer’s heart, fortified and matured by the mystery of God. Paul’s gospel ministry strengthens the Colossians against false teaching so that they are able to make decisions that please God. The word translated “united”(symbibazo) means literally to be “knit together” and refers to an action that naturally follows after (if not also from) a fortified heart. That is, the purpose of Paul’s ministry (presumably his proclamation of the gospel, and his pastoral admonishment and instruction; 1:28) is corporate: that the congregation weld well together in mutual love.

….the genitives used by Paul in this passage to modify understanding (“complete”) and knowledge (“the mystery of God”; compare 1:27) are particularly important. In the first case, complete translates plerophoria (literally, “full accomplishment”), another in the family of plero- words that Paul has already used (see 1:9 and 1:25) for his aim to teach the congregation a fuller, more complete understanding of the gospel: to fill in what spiritual competencies they lack. In the second case, the phrase mystery of God supplies the core content of the complete gospel—namely, Christ.

Simply put, spiritual maturity results from knowing Christ. (IVP Commentary – Biblegateway.com)

Be Thou My Vision – 4Him (Celtic Version) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jIMhshpf0Y4

Leave a Reply

