Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Prince of Peace

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 5.

John 16:31-33 (ESV)WK3D5.png

31 Jesus answered them, “Do you now believe? 32 Behold, the hour is coming, indeed it has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home, and will leave me alone. Yet I am not alone, for the Father is with me. 33 I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

O – Yesterday’s passage struck me that God’s peace was to strengthen and equip me.  Today, I read – “DO you now believe?”  Jesus is saying that times of persecution will come – yet we will not be alone.  Difficult times are coming, not in our circumstances, but in standing for HIM.  But, His words of reassurance are:  “I told you these things so that you would have peace.  There will be tribulation and trials in this world, but stand strong and take heart.  I am bigger than all this – I have overcome the world.”

A – I can’t say that I have had to “suffer” for Christ’s sake.  Not like those times of martyrdom or in today’s majority world countries.  I do know the peace that God gives in times of adversity – when we have difficult circumstances because we are believers.  My husband left me thirty years ago, because he turned his back on the Lord, and said that he didn’t want to share me – with anyone, including God.  Yet, in the pain of that time, I experienced peace beyond measure.  Would I cling to that same kind of peace – if I experienced the command to renounce my faith – or die?  That is what the disciples faced – and some people do today.   Will I be “confident, undaunted, filled with joy?”  Oh, that I would stand strong.  And in the miniscule, daily grind of my life today, may I invite His peace to reign in my soul.

P – Father God – You have provided what we need to stand strong in You.  Your peace is a gift, if we accept it.  Strengthen my soul so that I stand strong in You.  Father, prepare me for a world that does not see You as Lord.  Help me to stand in You – filled with Your perfect peace.  Help me to see beyond circumstances to the knowledge of Your victory over sin, death, and evil.  Thank You for Your equipping.

 I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect]peace. In the world you have tribulation and distress and suffering, but be courageous [be confident, be undaunted, be filled with joy]; I have overcome the world.” [My conquest is accomplished, My victory abiding.] (AMP)

It is Well with my Soul – Chris Rice – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9HLyhEdh92E

 

Leave a Reply

