Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Prince of Peace

Leave a comment

Week Three – Day 4WK3D4.png

Hebrews 13:20-21(ESV) – 20 may the God of peace who brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great shepherd of the sheep, by the blood of the eternal covenant, 21 equip you with everything good that you may do his will, working in us that which is pleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen.

20 Now may the God of peace [the source of serenity and spiritual well-being] who brought up from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great Shepherd of the sheep, through the blood that sealed and ratified the eternal covenant, 21 equip you with every good thing to carry out His will and strengthen you [making you complete and perfect as you ought to be], accomplishing in us that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen.

O – I am struck today with the thought that the peace that God gives is not for ME – it is to strengthen and equip me TO CARRY OUT HIS WILL.  It is not peace that is just to comfort me – it goes way beyond that!  God’s peace comes from the God who raised Christ from the dead, Christ who is our shepherd and the fulfiller of the covenant.  This God of peace equips us SO we can do His will – equipped with everything we need to do just that!  It is through His strength that we are able to do this – and to accomplish what He sets before us  – all that is pleasing in His sight.  In ALL THIS – He receives the glory!

A – How many times have I thought of peace in terms of ME?  How that peace would affect me – and allow me to cope with the situation at hand?  Here, I see that the peace that God gives has a higher purpose – to EQUIP me, to STRENGTHEN me, to help me to DO HIS WILL, and to do that which is PLEASING in His sight.  It is not just to get me through the day, or through the next circumstance.  It is to allow Him to work through me – to bring glory to Himself.  Oh, that I would see that His peace was equipping and strengthening!

P – Father God – thank You for this message today.  In all that I have experienced in Your love, I hadn’t fully realize that Your peace had a higher purpose than my comfort.  It is to equip me and strengthen me to bring glory to YOU.   Father, help me to see that the next time that I go through times that desperately need Your peace – and then to realize that Your peace equips and strengthens me for Your glory.  Oh, may You be glorified in my life today – and all days.

May the Peace of God Reign

Leave a Reply

