Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Prince of Peace

Leave a comment

John 14:25-27 – (ESV)
WK3D2.png
25 “These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. 26 But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you. 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

O – Jesus is comforting His disciples before He leaves them. He reminds them that the Holy Spirit will be there with them after He leaves – the Father is sending the Holy Spirit in His name. But – Jesus also leaves His peace – not the kind of peace that comes and goes, or is from the world – but the kind that is deep and inner. With this peace – we do not have to be worried or troubled – or afraid. The Amplified Version states it this way: “Peace I leave with you; My [perfect] peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be afraid. [Let My perfect peace calm you in every circumstance and give you courage and strength for every challenge.]”

A – It is hard to explain the kind of peace that God gives. I KNOW that it is there – I have experienced it. It is a peace that is far beyond myself, or what I am able to muster up. It is a peace that overcomes that trembling feeling inside during times of trouble. Yes – it is the peace that calms me in EVERY circumstance – and gives me courage and strength for each challenge! IF I LET HIM BESTOW IT UPON ME! It is that peace that gave me the ability to traverse through divorce, my parent’s accident, unemployment, health crisis times in my family, and even the adjustments to living in a new community in Indiana. Can I explain it? No. But I can tell of my experience – and know that the Holy Spirit works within me. But I have to allow Him access. He will not go where He is not invited! Again, the Amplified gives clarity here: the Holy Spirit’s role is: “Helper (Comforter, Advocate, Intercessor—Counselor, Strengthener, Standby).” What comfort it is to know that!

P – Father God – thank You for providing for me – even when Jesus was talking with His disciples about the Holy Spirit and the peace He gives. Even though I cannot explain it, or fully understand it – I KNOW that the peace that You give is not from the world, or even within my own strength. Help me to lean on You in times of trouble, in times of stress, in times of grief, and in times of turbulence. Thank You for Your peace – that passes all understanding!

Perfect Peace – a perfect accompaniment to today’s reading!

Leave a Reply

