Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jehovah-Rohi

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 5

Read Psalm 100  – SOAP Psalm 100:3 WK2D5

Psalm 100English Standard Version (ESV)

His Steadfast Love Endures Forever

A Psalm for giving thanks.

100 Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth!
    Serve the Lord with gladness!
Come into his presence with singing!

Know that the Lord, he is God!
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
and his courts with praise!
Give thanks to him; bless his name!

For the Lord is good;
his steadfast love endures forever,
and his faithfulness to all generations.

O – After coming through this week of thinking of God as our shepherd, we move to praise – praise to our Great Shepherd!  What other response can we have when we think of all that He does for us?  We are reminded that it is HE that made us – we didn’t “make” ourselves.  We belong to Him – we are His people, and the sheep of His pasture.  Yes – reminded again of our “sheep-ful” nature – needing protection, our stubborn bents, our foolishness, and yes, our need for a shepherd.

A – I was reminded of the song “Shepherd of My Heart” as I read the blog posting from LoveGodGreatly and then Psalm 100.  While we are reminded to praise Him – I am also reminded to trust in Him – the shepherd of my heart.  He meets my needs – if I allow Him to!  This does not mean that life will be perfect, or without storms, but that I can trust Him – my shepherd.   Not only of my life – but my heart.  It is my heart that needs shepherding – as it is the part of me that worries, or wanders, or gets conflicted.  I need to be reminded to trust in Him – the shepherd of my heart.

P – Father God – You ARE the shepherd of my heart.  I belong to You.  You made me, and know me intimately.  You know my struggles to belong, and to be found worthy.  Thank You for Your Word, that speaks to me, and gives me comfort, peace, and strength for each day.  Thank You for Your loving care in my life, and for providing for my needs.  Keep me in Your Word, daily, so that I can know You – and find my strength for today.  I praise You for WHO You are – my loving Lord, my Shepherd, my God.

What are these “​green pastures”​ but the Scriptures of truth—always fresh, always rich, and never exhausted? There is no fear of biting the bare ground where the grass is long enough for the flock to lie down in it. Sweet and full are the doctrines of the gospel; fit food for souls, as tender grass is natural nutriment for sheep.   ~ C.H. Spurgeon

Shepherd of my Heart – Sandy Patti –

Maker of this heart of mine
You know me very well
You understand my deepest part
More than I know myself
So when I face the darkness
When I need to find my way
I’ll trust in You
Shepherd of my heart

Keeper of this heart of mine
Your patience has no end
You’ve loved me back into Your arms
Time and time again
So if I start to wander
Like a lamb that’s gone astray
I’ll trust in You
Shepherd of my heart

You’re the beacon of my nights
You’re the sunlight of my days
I can rest within Your arms
I can know Your loving ways
So let the cold winds blow
Let the storms rage all around
I’ll trust in You
Shepherd of my heart

Giver of this life in me
You’re what I’m living for
For all my deepest gratitude
You love me even more
So as I walk through valleys
Listening for the Master’s call
I’ll trust in you
Shepherd of my heart

You’re the beacon of my nights
You’re the sunlight of my days
I can rest within Your arms
I can know Your loving ways
So as I walk through valleys
Listening for my Master’s call
I’ll trust in You
Shepherd of my heart

I’ll trust in You
Shepherd of my heart

Psalm 100 – Chris Tomlin –

Leave a Reply

