Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jehovah-Rohi

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 3

Luke 15:1-7 –  SOAP Luke 15:7

WK2D4.png

Luke 15:1-7 (ESV)

The Parable of the Lost Sheep

15 Now the tax collectors and sinners were all drawing near to hear him. And the Pharisees and the scribes grumbled, saying, “This man receives sinners and eats with them.”

So he told them this parable: “What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’ Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.

O – Jesus replies to those who are complaining about WHO He was spending time with – sinners!  Imagine – eating and receiving sinners – isn’t that WHY He came?  To seek and save the lost?  But He replies with this parable.  If a shepherd had 100 sheep, and lost one, he would leave the 99 home safely in the fold, and would go searching for that lost lamb.  He would rejoice when he found it.  But the comparison is how God and the angels rejoice when one who is lost come to Him.  There is GREAT rejoicing over the saving of the lost.

A – This parable is convicting in the point that in order for heaven to rejoice, a lost person has to come to HIM.  Do I seek out those who are lost to bring them into God’s kingdom?  Am I proactive in seeking out neighbors, my community now, to share His love?  Even though I am new in this community, I now have three neighbor women whom I have contact with that I can share my life, my faith, and my Lord with.  If we, as Christians, do not share our faith with others, who will?  Convicting thought.

P – Father God, I pray that You will bring those whom You would have me minister to into my life.  I bring my three neighbor women to You.  Keep my eyes open so I can see the needs, or see opportunities to share my life with them.  Help me to build relationships with them – with Your love.  Thank You, Father, for seeking me out so many years ago, so that I could enjoy a relationship with You.

The Lord’s My Shepherd – Keith Green

Shepherd of My Soul – Marty Nystrom

The Ninety and Nine – an old hymn that shows the shepherd’s care for his sheep

Leave a Reply

