Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jehovah-Rohi

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 3

Wednesday Isaiah 40:11   SOAP Isaiah 40:11

WK2D3.png

Isaiah 40:11  (ESV)

11 He will tend his flock like a shepherd;
he will gather the lambs in his arms;
he will carry them in his bosom,
and gently lead those that are with young.

O – God’s role as our shepherd shows tenderness here.  He will tend, gather, carry, and gently lead.  He doesn’t force, or push us to follow Him.  Our following is our choice – even if we decide NOT to follow.  God’s leading as a shepherd is for our benefit, not harm.  His love is tender and close.

A – Why would I NOT want to follow such a shepherd?  To be tended, watched over with loving care, and in His arms?  Love like this is comforting, and assuring.  Someone who loves us like this is having protective and careful care.  God, the powerful, awesome I AM is also my caring shepherd, who wants the very best for me.  I want this tender care from Him.

P –  Father God, my shepherd, my caring and loving God, thank You for your tender loving care for me.  You have watched over me when I was alone, or scared, or hurting.  You have comforted me in grief.  You have carried me through the rough places in life.  You have gathered me in your arms when I needed your care.  You have led me though the valleys, the shadows, and the storms.  Keep me in Your arms.  Help me to follow You through all the seasons, all the phases of my life.  I love You, and give my life, my direction – to You today.

The Lord’s My Shepherd – Stuart Townend – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pN4tPkX0MG0

He Shall Feed His Flock Like a Shepherd (Handel)- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Re75Mn85Jjk

Like a Shepherd – Don Moen – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZSyGwk5zU4

Leave a Reply

