Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jehovah-Rohi

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 2.

Tuesday John 10:1-6; 11-15 John 10:14-15

WK2D2

John 10:1-6 – 10, 11 – 15 “Truly, truly, I say to you, he who does not enter the sheepfold by the door but climbs in by another way, that man is a thief and a robber. But he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. To him the gatekeeper opens. The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.” This figure of speech Jesus used with them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them.

11 I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd, who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep.

O – The shepherd is known by, and knows, the sheep intimately.  Here, the comparison of the shepherd and the thief is made clear.  The shepherd enters the fold by the door, and is known by the sheep and the gatekeeper.  The sheep follow him because they know him AND his voice.  They run away from strangers, but follow their shepherd.  The shepherd loves and cares for his sheep so much that he will even lay down his life for them.  The thief has to enter the fold by climbing over the wall, or in secret, and has to steal the sheep – they won’t follow him because they don’t know him OR this voice.  He won’t protect the sheep – but will run away from danger because the sheep don’t BELONG to him.

A – Jesus is MY shepherd.  He knows me intimately, and not only is willing to lay down his life – but HE already did!  Do I know His voice?  DO I know Him as intimately as He knows me?  DO I know His voice over all the other voices that call to me?  Do I follow Him?   I am convicted to continue reading His Word, SO I KNOW His voice!  I need to hear it over and over, so that I recognize Him when He calls my name.  This relationship is reciprocal – not only does He know me, but I need to know Him.  Is my relationship to Him as close as His is to the Father’s?  THAT is convicting!

P – Father God – thank You for this reminder to listen to Your voice amongst the others that call my name.  Help me to be discerning – in order to hear YOU.  Sweep away the distractions of my daily life –  and tune my heart to YOU.  Thank You that You know me and have given Your life – for me.

They don’t follow strangers; indeed, they flee from them, because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice (v. 5). The word for know and recognize are the same word in Greek (oida),so the sheep will be known by whom they know. Here is a beautiful picture of both divine sovereignty in the shepherd’s call and the human response in the hearing, knowing and following by the sheep. We also find the theme of discernment, since there are more voices calling to them than just their own shepherd’s. Following Jesus means refusing to follow others who are claiming to be shepherds. – (IVP NT Commentary – Biblegateway.com)

Savior Like a Shepherd Lead us – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPlIlkLFt_A

Leave a Reply

