Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jehovah-Jireh

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 2

Tuesday Philippians 4:10-20 Philippians 4:19

WK1D2.png

10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. 11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.  14 Yet it was kind of you to share my trouble. 15 And you Philippians yourselves know that in the beginning of the gospel, when I left Macedonia, no church entered into partnership with me in giving and receiving, except you only.16 Even in Thessalonica you sent me help for my needs once and again. 17 Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the fruit that increases to your credit. 18 I have received full payment, and more. I am well supplied, having received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent, a fragrant offering, a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God. 19 And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. 20 To our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen.

O – Paul is sharing what he has learned about being content.  He has learned that WHATEVER situation he finds himself in, he is content.  He has experienced both plenty and want, and knows  that IN ANY and EVERY circumstance, he has learned the secret of facing them – that “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  ALL things!  He also states that the gifts that were given to him were a “fragrant offering – a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God.”  Our sharing with others IS an offering that is fragrant and pleasing to God.  We are called to be generous.  Why?  Because “my God will supply EVERY need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

A – What do I take away from this today?

  • I can be content with what God gives me. He knows what I need – and He knows what is enough for me to have in every circumstance of my life.  Can I be content with what I have – not comparing with what the neighbors or other people at church have?  Are possessions the “be all and end all” of life?  As I look around at our home, yes – we have enough!  In fact, we have MORE than enough!  I am thankful for all that God has provided – even enough for us to be able to share with others.
  • Am I generous with what God has given me? If God supplies all my needs, then I know that He can also us me, use us to be generous with others.  Paul stated that gifts given were “a fragrant offering – a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God.”  Do I share to the point of sacrifice – or just  to say that I did?  My time?  My talent?  My possessions?
  • Do I live, knowing that God WILL supply every need? Do I worry about the future – or do I rest in His promises, knowing that He has been faithful in the past?   Yes – God is Jehovah-Jireh – my Provider!

P – Father God – help me to live, contented with all that You have given me.  Help me to be humble when times are hard, and to be generous when times are abundant.  In every time – help me to live a life that is thankful.  Give me an attitude of thanksgiving today – and in this month of celebrating Thanksgiving.  Help me to be thankful for the little things in life – along with the huge blessings that You bestow upon me.  Help me to be able to say – “I can do all things which God has called me to do – through Him who strengthens AND empowers me – to fulfill His purpose in me.  I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency.  I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.”  Father – fulfill Your purpose in me today.

12 I know how to get along and live humbly [in difficult times], and I also know how to enjoy abundance and live in prosperity. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret [of facing life], whether well-fed or going hungry, whether having an abundance or being in need. 13 I can do all things [which He has called me to do] through Him who strengthens and empowers me [to fulfill His purpose—I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency; I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.] (AMP)

More than Enough – Vickie Winans – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFEOHUbYTIk

More Than Enough – Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3ICn0nJP_k&list=RDn3ICn0nJP_k#t=23

Leave a Reply

