Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Names of God – Jehovah-Jireh

Leave a comment

Week One – Day 1.

Monday Genesis 22:9-14   SOAP – Genesis 22:13-14

WK1D1.png

When they came to the place of which God had told him, Abraham built the altar there and laid the wood in order and bound Isaac his son and laid him on the altar, on top of the wood. 10 Then Abraham reached out his hand and took the knife to slaughter his son. 11 But the angel of the Lord called to him from heaven and said, “Abraham, Abraham!” And he said, “Here I am.” 12 He said, “Do not lay your hand on the boy or do anything to him, for now I know that you fear God, seeing you have not withheld your son, your only son, from me.”13 And Abraham lifted up his eyes and looked, and behold, behind him was a ram, caught in a thicket by his horns. And Abraham went and took the ram and offered it up as a burnt offering instead of his son. 14 So Abraham called the name of that place, “The Lord will provide”; as it is said to this day, “On the mount of the Lord it shall be provided.”

Jehovah Jireh (Don Moen) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSDByrcWQV8

O – Abraham’s faith in God was put to the test when he was told to bring Isaac, the son he loved, to the mountain for sacrifice.  He was stopped only when he was ready to sacrifice Isaac – he was already bound and laid on the altar.  The angel of the Lord noted that “I know that you fear God” – as he had not withheld his son, whom he loved, from God.  God provided a lamb (caught in a thicket of thorns) as a sacrifice instead.  And – in response, Abraham renamed the mount – “The LORD will provide.”  Jehovah-Jireh – the Lord is My Provider!

A – Am I withholding anything from God today?  What (or whom) do I love more than God?  Do I put my husband, or grandchildren, or my mom – before God?  Do I put them in His hands?  Or – is it things?  My health, my possessions, my gifts and talents?  Can God say, ”I know that you fear God, seeing that you have not withheld…….. from me?”

I have seen the Lord’s provision in my life.  Groceries left on the doorstep.  Child support when I was unemployed – and the mother of a 27 year old married daughter.  Money to pay bills – from unusual sources – checks in the mail or piano lessons.   A house that sold two weeks before my wedding.  Strength to get through trials – my parents’ accident, my divorce, losing a job that I loved, my mom’s illness.   Provision of joy in meeting Paul again, and finding love and ministry wrapped up in our relationship.  Yes, Jehovah-Jireh – My Provider!

P – Father God, thank You for Your provision in my life.  Thank You for taking care of needs, sometimes before I was even aware of them.  Help me to have the faith of Abraham, to be able to say, “The Lord will Provide.”  Help me to trust in You in those times of worry, or need, or wondering.  Allow my mind to review ALL those times that YOU were faithful, not only in my life, but in the lives of those that I know.  Father – You are the Giver of all things.  Help me to keep my hands open – so that I do not withhold anything from You.   I hold my hands open now – giving you my relationships, my possessions, my future, my health, my time and talents.  Use them for Your glory.  Amen.

 

God did provide the sacrifice that was needed, and a ram took Isaac’s place on the altar (Gen. 22:13). Abraham discovered a new name for God–Jehovah-jireh–which can be translated “The Lord will see to it” or “The Lord will be seen.” The statement “In the mount of the Lord it shall be seen” helps us understand some truths about the provision of the Lord.

Where does the Lord provide our needs? In the place of His assignment. Abraham was at the right place, so God could meet his needs. We have no right to expect the provision of God if we are not in the will of God.

When does God meet our needs? Just when we have the need and not a minute before. When you bring your requests to the throne of grace, God answers with mercy and grace “in time of need” (Heb. 4:16). Sometimes it looks like God waits until the last minute to send help, but that is only from our human point of view. God is never late.

How does God provide for us? In ways that are usually quite natural. God did not send an angel with a sacrifice; He simply allowed a ram to get caught in a bush at a time when Abraham needed it and in a place where Abraham could get his hands on it. All Abraham needed was one animal, so God did not send a whole flock of sheep.

To whom does God give His provision? To those who trust Him and obey His instructions. When we are doing the will of God, we have the right to expect the provision of God. A deacon in the first church I pastored used to remind us, “When God’s work is done in God’s way, it will not lack God’s support.” God is not obligated to bless my ideas or projects, but He is obligated to support His work if it is done in His way. –  (Warrren Wiersbe – Be Bible Study Series – biblegateway.com)

Leave a Reply

