Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Hymn Study – His Eye is on the Sparrow

Leave a comment

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Scripture Reading:  Luke 12:4-7Matthew 6:25-34Psalm 91:1-16John 14:1-4

Hymn - His Eye is on the Sparrow

http://shereadstruth.com/2015/01/27/hymns-ii-day-2/

Luke 12:4-7 (ESV) – “I tell you, my friends, do not fear those who kill the body, and after that have nothing more that they can do.But I will warn you whom to fear: fear him who, after he has killed, has authority to cast into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him! Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows.

Matthew 6:25-34 (ESV) – 25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin,29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.  34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Psalm 91(ESV)

91 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler
and from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with his pinions,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness is a shield and buckler.
You will not fear the terror of the night,
nor the arrow that flies by day,
nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness,
nor the destruction that wastes at noonday.

A thousand may fall at your side,
ten thousand at your right hand,
but it will not come near you.
You will only look with your eyes
and see the recompense of the wicked.

Because you have made the Lord your dwelling place—
the Most High, who is my refuge—
10 no evil shall be allowed to befall you,
no plague come near your tent.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways.
12 On their hands they will bear you up,
lest you strike your foot against a stone.
13 You will tread on the lion and the adder;
the young lion and the serpent you will trample underfoot.

14 “Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him;
I will protect him, because he knows my name.
15 When he calls to me, I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble;
I will rescue him and honor him.
16 With long life I will satisfy him
and show him my salvation.”

John 14:1-4(ESV) 14 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.And you know the way to where I am going.”

HIS EYE IS ON THE SPARROW
by Civilla D. Martin, 1905

Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heaven and home,
When Jesus is my portion? My constant friend is He:
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain
I sing because I’m happy,
I sing because I’m free,
For His eye is on the sparrow,
And I know He watches me.

“Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear,
And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears;
Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain

Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise,
When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies,
I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain

Scripture and Hymn Reflection:

How do I know that God is caring for me?  Scriptural evidence:

  • Enemies may kill my body – but they can’t kill my soul! (Luke 12:4)
  • God doesn’t forget the sparrows – those common birds that were sold for just pennies. I am of MORE value than a sparrow.  Certainly God values ME! (Luke 12:6,7)
  • Even the hairs of my head are numbered by God – if He knows how much hair I have (and how much I lose daily in the hairbrush) CERTAINLY He KNOWS ME! (Luke 12: 7)
  • The birds don’t worry about what they will eat or wear – and God takes care of them. Aren’t I of MORE VALUE than them? (Matt. 6:26)
  • If God takes care of the lilies and the grass of the field – He will “clothe” me – O me of little faith…(Matt. 6:30)
  • God KNOWS what I need! (Matt. 6:32)  “When Jesus is my portion…
  • If I seek GOD’S kingdom first, and His righteousness – ALL THESE THINGS will be added to me as well. What is the most important?  Seeking God.   (Matt. 6:33)
  • Those who dwell in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. (Psalm 91:1) His shelter, His protection, His arms of protection.
  • He is my refuge and fortress. My God.  I trust Him.  (Psalm 91:2)
  • Under His wings I find refuge. (Psalm 91:4) This is an image that I “see” in my mind – God’s arms just wrapped around me, holding me close, protecting me.
  • Because I have made the LORD my dwelling place – my refuge. No evil shall be allowed to befall me.  (Psalm 91:9)  Does that mean that nothing bad will happen to me?  No – it means that God’s arms are around me.  Circumstances and life  will happen.  But, I am in HIS eternal love and care.  His protection is there.
  • What a promise here! Because Karen holds fast to me in love, I will deliver her.  I will protect her, because she KNOWS MY NAME.  When Karen calls to me, I will answer her; I will be with her in trouble; I will rescue her and honor her.    With long life I will satisfy her and show her my salvation.  What a promise.  I claim this today.  I hold fast.  I will call out to Him.  I will be satisfied with the life He grants me.  I will learn to KNOW HIS NAME – His many names.  (Psalm 91:14-16)
  • Jesus is preparing an eternal home – for me. He will TAKE ME UNTO HIMSELF!  (John 14:2-4)

Prayer for Today – Father God – what promises You have for me today!  You KNOW what I need.  You provide ALL I need.  You are my shelter, my protection, my fortress, the arms of comfort.  I am in Your love and care.  Help me to hold fast to You – in all the circumstances of my life.  Teach me Your Name – so I can call out to You.  Thank You for Your steadfast love – and Your promise of Your eternal presence.

His Eye is on the Sparrow – Sandy Patti – 

Whitney Houston – His Eye is On the Sparrow – 

Ethel Waters – His Eye is On the Sparrow – a slice of a memory of my childhood….

One of my favorite versions, by Selah

Leave a Reply

