Journey in the Word

Karen Ingrid Clark

Hymn Study – Be Thou My Vision

Leave a comment

Week Two – Day 1.  Monday, October 26, 2015

Scripture Reading: Proverbs 29:18, Philippians 3:7-11, Colossians 3:1-3, Hebrews 12:1-2Hymn - Be Thou my Vision

http://shereadstruth.com/2015/01/26/hymns-ii-day-1/

Proverbs 29:18 (ESV) – 18 Where there is no prophetic vision the people cast off restraint, but blessed is he who keeps the law.

Philippians 3:7-11 (ESV) – But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— 10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

 Hebrews 12:1-2 (ESV) – 12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God. Colossians 3:1-3 (ESV ) – If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.

Scripture and Hymn Reflection –

If people can’t see what God is doing, they stumble all over themselves; But when they attend to what he reveals,  they are most blessed. (Prov. 29:18 – The Message) – This hit me today.  If I’m not in tune with what God is doing, then I am working, living, even ministering – in vain!  Yes, I stumble all over myself!  As I think of possible ministry for this new season in my life, I need to pay close attention to what God is doing.  Then come alongside Him – and then He will bless my efforts.  I can only do this with HIS help.  “Be Thou my vision…”

Paul reminds us in Philippians that everything, yes, everything is loss EXCPET for the priceless worth of knowing Christ.  All my efforts, everything I do is just rubbish, waste – but knowing Christ and having His righteousness – THAT is priceless.  Knowing Christ – being found IN Him, knowing the power of His resurrection, becoming like Him – that is eternity.  “High King of Heaven, my victory won, May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun!”

Where is my mind?  What do I spend my time thinking about?  Is it the next thing I “got to do?”  Is it my list of stuff to do or accomplish?  Or – is it seeking what HE would have me to do?  Is my mind “set on things that are above?”  Father, keep my mind fixed on YOU today!  “Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart; Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art.”

Do I let the things of my daily life get me down, or do I set all that “stuff” aside, and run with endurance?  God has set a path before me, and I need to keep my eyes on Him.  “Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise, Thou mine Inheritance, now and always: Thou and Thou only, first in my heart, High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.”  Is my goal to accumulate things, or to invite praise, or is it “Thou and Thou only, first in my heart?”   Father God, may I seek You first today, put You first today, and to consider how You would have me walk through daily life – with You today.


Be Thou My Vision (Selah) –

Be Thou my Vision – (Celtic version) 

Be Thou my Vision (violin and harp) –

BE THOU MY VISION
by Dallan Forgaill, 8th century 
(translated by Eleanor H. Hull and versified by Mary E. Byrne)

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art.
Thou my best Thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight;
Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight;
Thou my soul’s Shelter, Thou my high Tower:
Raise Thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.

High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun!
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.

 

Leave a Reply

